Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Just like riding a bike? >

Just like riding a bike?

Just like riding a bike?

Old 02-01-2011, 09:48 AM

I am a newbie at quilting, and I am learning SOOO much as I work and as I search online. Many of the things I learn are little "tips" along the way. My question is, do I need to write these things down, or is it "just like riding a bike" and I will never really forget all these little tips.
Any good organization ideas for those tips and tricks?
Thanks a ton
Old 02-01-2011, 09:50 AM

Get you a 3-ring note book and title it "Quilting Tips"...then write down the tips.
You may want to organize it into sections for ease of locating what you need help with...
Old 02-01-2011, 09:55 AM
Banned

Originally Posted by Leota
Get you a 3-ring note book and title it "Quilting Tips"...then write down the tips.
You may want to organize it into sections for ease of locating what you need help with...
I agree.
There are so many tips/tricks/hints/ideas as you learn. Some will become almost natural to you, others if you don't use them often you may need to refer to. And if someone asks you about a tip you will have it on hand and be able to help them.

I have several binders -- tips/hints, WIP, completed quilts, quilting diary (behind on), one specifically for Christmas quilts and projects, Patterns and others.
Old 02-01-2011, 10:00 AM
Cyn

Originally Posted by Leota
This is what I do only I get behind a lot :)
Old 02-01-2011, 10:01 AM

I like to add pics or drawings with my notes I have to "SEE" not just visualize what I write down to fully understand the concept! smile:)
Old 02-01-2011, 10:37 AM
Power Poster