Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Left overs

I am fairly new to quilting and have many trial and error blocks, what do you all do with your leftovers, I cant see throwing them away?

I make potholders or pin cushions out of them. I have a little stash of these for quick gifts, or sometimes just use them to adorn packages.

You could save them and make into a sampler quilt and donate to a charity. Pot holders and pillows are also good too

Quote Originally Posted by Marjpf
    I make potholders or pin cushions out of them. I have a little stash of these for quick gifts, or sometimes just use them to adorn packages.
    great ideas.

I make utility quilts with those. They are nice to have in the closet or car trunk for emergencies.

Sounds like a sampler quilt in the making.

I remember seeing a photo where another board member sews them to her reusable shopping bags from Wal-Mart / Walgreens. They were really cute -- I plan to do the same with mine. (someday)

Sometimes I make up a sample block to see how it turns out and also how easy or hard it goes together. I will use left over fabric for this and when I'm done with the block no matter what size it is I finish it just like a quilt. It has batting, backing and binding on it. I gave my sister a couple of them and she hangs them on her walls in her sewing room. I plan to do the same.

Blog Entries