Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: looking for a quilt pattern with a Navy theme

looking for a quilt pattern with a Navy theme

I am looking for a quilt pattern with a Navy theme. Not to difficult, I am fairly new to quilting.
    Or where I can get material with navy emblem on it. Thanks

You don't say where you are, but Mary Jo's in Gastonia, NC always has a good selection of military prints, and is worth the drive.

If you google navy or naval quilts many will come up. It might give you some ideas.

Go to the website BeautifulQuiltFabrics.com and you will find LOTS of military themed fabrics, including US Navy. They are a little pricey, but a great selection. As for patterns, any quilt pattern can be made with military theme fabrics. One I really like for a theme quilt is the BQ pattern, because it has large blocks for a focus fabric, and goes together REALLY quick and easy. Here is a photo of one I did with a travel/photography theme and the top was made in one day. I pieced the back with leftovers and other theme fabric too. Another idea is to google Quilts of Valor for pattern ideas with a military look.
    Name:  P1110717.jpg
Views: 2510
Size:  82.7 KBName:  P1110719.jpg
Views: 2115
Size:  76.0 KB

If you have Hobby Lobby in your area, they have military prints. Be sure to use the 40% coupon.

Also if it's for someone younger who's parent is in the navy sail boats and captains wheels done in blues and whites gives you a navy feel.
    Billi
    It's never too late to have a happy childhood

There was one a few episodes back on the Fons and Porter quilting show: Here is the link: http://www.fonsandporter.com/article...-quilt-project

It's not too hard a block once you break it down into pieces.