Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Looking for recommendations for color books for quilting >

Looking for recommendations for color books for quilting

Looking for recommendations for color books for quilting

Old 01-05-2019, 01:14 PM

Default Looking for recommendations for color books for quilting

I'm a beginner and my I'd like to learn more about color. I searched some books on amazon but I didn't know if there were better places to look. I'm not ready to do anything complicated but as long as helps making color combinations. I have a color wheel and I feel its too generic.
Thanks in advance!
Old 01-05-2019, 02:16 PM
Power Poster

https://www.quiltingcompany.com/the-...ns-quiltmaker/
https://www.craftsy.com/quilting/cla...quilters/35572
these are just a couple... i googled lessons in color for quilting
Old 01-05-2019, 02:29 PM
Power Poster

I don't have this book but it sure has some rave reviews. https://www.amazon.com/Fiber-Artist-...heory+quilting
Old 01-05-2019, 02:31 PM

Have you searched youtube for "color theory lessons" or "combining colors in quilts" or something like that? I haven't, but there's probably a bunch of ideas there.
Old 01-05-2019, 02:49 PM

Location: Asheville, previously Lake Vermilion, Tarpon Springs, Duluth, St Paul, Soudan

Anything by Joen Wolfrom (sp) is good by me, books or Craftsy. Any book on color theory for any of the visual arts will be useful—it’s no different for fabric than for yarn, paint, or anothing else.
Old 01-05-2019, 03:06 PM

What I do is save pics of quilts to Pinterest. I have one just for color combos that I like.
Old 01-05-2019, 05:27 PM

Joan Woefren (sp??) and get Jinny Beyers book on color--I tried to make her color wheel--whew--lots of work there--but what she tells you is so helpful.
Old 01-06-2019, 02:53 AM

Joan Wolfrom and Jinny Beyer are both colour masters.

For my money, Joan's books edge out Jinny's slightly for colour theory and ideas. But that's really about personal taste.