Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Lots and Lots of Fabric

Today I stumbled into a shop that makes curtains, pillows, and does upholstery work etc, etc. They had oodles and oodles of fabric, (some of it was Waverly and other brand names) most of it 54 wide, and a lot of it was 100% cotton plus they had a 20% discount going on (even on the sale items)...but I didn't buy anything today because I wanted to know does anyone use this type of fabric for quilts? I'm fairly new at quilting so I wanted someone's advice before I went wild!

Blog Entries
    100 % cotton is what I use - so I don't see why not

I've got Waverly fabric too, but didn't know if it would be good for a quilt...it's fairly heavy.

as long as its 100% cotton you should be good

Sounds like my kind of place! Location please??????......Michele

Quote Originally Posted by frugalfabrics
    I've got Waverly fabric too, but didn't know if it would be good for a quilt...it's fairly heavy.
    I agree, I have drooled over fabric like that also, but it really would be too heavy!

i've made many things with home dec fabric... it wears lie iron and has a huge advantage to "coordinating colors"... also great for totes.. have fun..

Super Member I go To The Sea To Breathe's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    I made a dress from brocade drapery fabric and wore to a very fancy dinner at a captains house...everyone thought it was beautiful....it was....

Some of the fabric was heavy, but what I'm looking at was more like what I call polished cotton, and the lighter weights that said they were 100% cotton. The prices were great because they had a lot of remnants and they were also included in the 20% off and they were already marked down because they were remnants.
    This was in Federalsburg, Maryland where this shop is.