Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Machine Applique Help Please

  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9
    Hello All,

    When doing applique by machine what do you set your stitch length to? I think i have my stitches to tight as block seems to pucker especially around curves. Anyone have any advice?

  2. #2
    Super Member vicki reno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,259
    I am not sure, since it is the default stitch on the machine. BUt I will look tonight and let you now. Also maybe you could try to ease the tension setting a little. My machine is set on 4 but sometimes if I am doing the blanket stitch or a decorative stitch, I may move it to 1 or 2. See if that helps.

  3. #3
    Super Member Butterflyspain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Torrox, Andalucia, Southern Spain
    Posts
    9,532
    Well donīt know if this will help. I have a Brother Innovis 1200 and it is automatically set to the following 2.5 stitch width, 2.5 stitch length and 4.00 for the tension. I think you may have to play around a little but if it is puckering it could be your tension. Hope it helps. Elle

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9
    I'll try adjusting the tension and see if that helps...Thanks for the suggestions :wink:

  5. #5
    mgshaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,079
    I always use some kind of stabilizer under my block when machine appliqueing. I just use a thin (cheap) typing paper, but you could use tear away or any other kind of stabilzer

  6. #6
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7,167
    Blog Entries
    3
    i iron freezer paper to the back of the background when i machine applique. prevents both shifting and puckering. comes right off when i use the satin stitch. still fairly easy to remove when i use other stitches.

  7. #7
    Super Member Moonpi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Central FL
    Posts
    4,851
    I think your puckering comes from not using interfacing. My own preference is a sturdy tear-away. Another helpful trick is to baste close to the edge before doing a satin stitch that will cover it. Practice first. Once you get the settings that work best for you, make a little note of settings and stabilizers for next time.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9
    I am using Wonder Under but maybe it isn't sturdy enough. This seems to be a great place to get good info. thanks!

  9. #9
    Super Member Moonpi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Central FL
    Posts
    4,851
    wonder under is great for holding 2 layers together if you were using a blanket stitch edge. Satin stitching requires something on the bottom to keep from pulling in the fabric.

  10. #10
    patchythepirate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Battle Ground, WA
    Posts
    23
    Hi Everyone!
    I have a question about invisible machine applique. It is my first attempt and it's going as well as can be expected. My question is about winding invisible thread on the bobbin. My bobbin conks out on me before the thread is fully used. When there is about 1/4 full bobbin, the machine just locks up and won't go until I put a fresh bobbin in. This is not such a big deal but it does seem a waste of good thread since I have to unwind the last 1/4 of every bobbin and toss it in the trash. Has anyone had to deal with this issue and if so, what do you think?

    Thanks!

    Juli

  11. #11

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    39
    My quilt instructure said never to use invisible thread in the bobbin. It just doesn't work.

  12. #12
    patchythepirate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Battle Ground, WA
    Posts
    23
    Oh my gosh. I didn't know I wasn't supposed to use the invisible thread in the bobbin. I've already made 3 blocks this way and they're intricate and large (16 inches). I guess no one will be the wiser if I do the rest with regular thread in the bobbin but do you think the blocks I have so far will hold up? They look good on the front and on the back but do you think the actual stitching is as strong as it should be?

  13. #13
    patchythepirate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Battle Ground, WA
    Posts
    23
    Loretta, I'm going to try this this afternoon and see if it works but I remember trying something like it in the past and having a really hard time with the tension. The invisible thread kept pulling the white thread to the top and then vice versa after I would try to make adjustments. I think I was doing free motion quilting at the time though, not blind hem stitch like I'm using now. So I'll give it a shot. Please read my other post and let me know your opinion. Thanks!!

    Juli

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Gulf Coast, FL
    Posts
    1,429
    ...about the invisible thread that your pulling off your bobbin and throwing away... Why wouldn't you just put the bobbin complete with the remaining thread and use it on the top? It doesn't solve the machine binding up on you issue, but it sure would prevent all that waste.

  15. #15
    patchythepirate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Battle Ground, WA
    Posts
    23
    Duh! I never even thought of that. Guess I'm not very conservative. Thanks Elizabeth! Great idea!

    Juli

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.