Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Machine applique >

Machine applique

Machine applique

Old 05-19-2020, 05:03 PM

Default Machine applique

I’m doing a machine appliqué quilt. I used heat n bond to fuse the pieces, and am using a zig zag stitch with invisible thread. The edges seem to be getting chewed up (see picture). I am cleaning it all up carefully with a small pair of scissors, but of course that is time consuming. Is this something that naturally happens with raw edge, or am I doing something wrong? Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails edge.jpg  

Last edited by sarge1; 05-19-2020 at 05:07 PM. Reason: attach picture
Old 05-19-2020, 05:09 PM

I try to get the outside zigzag hitting just beyond the applique edge and the other zig zag into the applique far enough that I stay off the actual edge of the applique. Takes some practice and I don't do much applique so it's rough!
Old 05-19-2020, 05:20 PM

I am not good with using a zigzag around an applique. Use a blanket stitch instead and that makes me think about ins and outs around the edge.
Old 05-19-2020, 06:21 PM
mkc

I have done zigzag once on an applique, and in that case it was essentially turned edge, the fabric was wool suiting material, and my stitch was 1.0/1.0 with monopoly (which was a real challenge).

With raw edge cotton I would be more inclined to use blanket or satin stitch and an embroidery-type thread (thicker for blanket stitch, thinner for satin).
Old 05-19-2020, 09:15 PM
Power Poster

A zig zag is going to fray the edge if the one zig hits the edge of the appliqué. If you want to continue with the zig zag, I think you will have to accept someone fraying.
Old 05-20-2020, 02:03 AM

I find using a stabilizer underneath helps a lot. I hate removing it afterwards, though.
Old 05-20-2020, 02:20 AM
Power Poster