Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Machine help >

Machine help

Machine help

Old 12-24-2018, 07:09 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
PurplePassion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southern MN
Posts: 2,375
Default Machine help

I have a Janome 6500. I had just used it a couple days ago. And I sit down tonight to sew , and a message comes on the screen: Stop for safety purposes. I looked through my manual and checked what it said could be wrong, and cleaned it. Has anyone else had this happen? Any idea what it could be? I don't have a sewing center close by, and with bad weather being forecast later this week , I don't know when I could get there.
PurplePassion is offline  
Old 12-24-2018, 07:25 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
EasyPeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,376
Default

Switch it off. Remove the bobbin and bobbin case, give it a good cleaning.
Could be just lint. Then rethread the top also. If you still get that message
then your machine might need to go to the shop.
My machine was sewing in reverse the other day. I stopped and cleaned it
then it was fine. Weird but it happens.
Hope yours is an easy fix.

Edit: Try a new needle. Maybe it's bent and hitting something.
EasyPeezy is offline  
Old 12-24-2018, 07:31 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 818
Default

I did an Internet search for the message you received and found a posting that showed a manual for a Janine 4800. It said that the problem is one or more of these: 1) lint built up in race hook, 2) needle or bobbin threading is incorrect, or 3) the fabric is too thick for the machine to sew.
Pudge is offline  
Old 12-24-2018, 07:31 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 818
Default

That's Janome not Janine.
Pudge is offline  
Old 12-25-2018, 05:34 AM
  #5  
Power Poster
 
nativetexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: home again, after 27 yrs!
Posts: 19,388
Default

not sure why you got that. i have a Janome MC4800 and never got messages. but it doesn't like to be dirty with lint. good luck!
nativetexan is offline  
Old 12-25-2018, 05:56 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Davenport, Iowa
Posts: 2,941
Default

I have the same machine...simply turn it off and the on again. Remember to reset your setting before starting again.
lindaschipper is offline  
Old 12-25-2018, 06:08 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3,354
Default

Check your out your bobbin case. See if it looks frayed in some areas. If it is, lightly file the frayed area with a soft nail file.
bibi is offline  
Old 12-25-2018, 07:11 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 325
Default

I have the Janome 6600 and have gotten this message once or twice. It has never been anything serious-usually a needle issue or a nest of thread in the bobbin. It is my first computerized machine and I laughed the first time I saw it.
Nesie is offline  
Old 12-25-2018, 07:49 AM
  #9  
Power Poster
 
nativetexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: home again, after 27 yrs!
Posts: 19,388
Default

and make sure all plugs are plugged in securely.
nativetexan is offline  
Old 12-25-2018, 08:10 AM
  #10  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 3,090
Default

I have a Janome 6600 and when I get that message it has been needle related... I think my needle is bent or just broke.

I agree with the others about giving the machine a good cleaning
meyert is offline  

FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.