Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
machine suggestions >

machine suggestions

machine suggestions

Old 01-08-2010, 04:55 PM

Hi all, I am new to quilting and have an old (well maintained) Kenmore machine. It has NO frills and I would like to get a new machine that would serve me well to make quilts/runners/etc (I don't sew except for quilts). If you have any suggestions I'd sure appreciate it. Thanks much, Kim
Old 01-08-2010, 06:33 PM
Power Poster

How much were you thinking of spending?
Old 01-08-2010, 07:49 PM

I was thinking if I bought something soon I would spend a few hundred dollars. I mean my dream would be to have something that allowed me to quilt a queen size quilt in a manageable way but don't you need a long arm quilter to do that? I want some basics conveniences...needle threader, thread cutter, whatever options that make the sewing go smoother...any suggestions are greatly appreciated!
Old 01-08-2010, 07:55 PM

A couple of years ago I bought myself a Janome 6600. I am now a dedicated Janome owner, but did a fair bit of shopping before I bought. One thing I did was to make a bunch of quilt sandwiches about 8" square and take them with me when I shopped. That way I could try out the machines. Here are a few reasons I ended up with a Janome:
- they were very popular all my home ec teacher friends which makes me think they are durable and easy to use
- the space between the machine body and needle was the largest at the time I bought - more room for shoving quilts through
- mine has an accufeed (top feed dogs) that are removable so I have more control
- all the features I had decided were must haves - needle up/down, lock stitch, needle thread cutter
- number one reason - the shop where I bought has a serviceman who loves his machines and knows them like his children; the service there is fabulous