Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Making my own paper pieced squares for a large quilt >

Making my own paper pieced squares for a large quilt

Making my own paper pieced squares for a large quilt

Old 12-16-2020, 10:44 AM

Default Making my own paper pieced squares for a large quilt

Hi Everyone!
I finally found a picture of a quilt that I think would be perfect for our king sized bed. The more I looked at it, I realized that it’s really just three blocks, and I have the designs in a book on paper piecing that I’m just starting to learn. And there are some wavy lines to be sewn but not intricate free motion quilting. So I think this might be a great project for me.

Here’s the problem. The picture of the quilt is a baby quilt and I want to make a king sized quilt. If I just make more blocks, I think the proportions would be off. I’d prefer to make the blocks larger. I’d like to enlarge the squares from the Carol Doak book I have, but she says not to make a copy of a copy. I’d like to make 9x9 squares.

Are there any secrets to making my own 9x9 square? Can’t I just make my design in paper 9x9 and be sure to cut 1/4 inch seam allowance at the end? It seems like it should be pretty straightforward, but I don’t want to make a ton of blocks and then realize I did it all wrong. So I’m hoping some of you that have made your own paper piecing designs can prevent me from making a disastrous mistake before it’s too late.
Old 12-16-2020, 10:54 AM

If you want to make 9" x 9"blocks I think it would be better to have it
printed or you could draw them. I bought some newsprint from my local
newspaper provider. I drew my design on one sheet then stapled several
sheets together and used my sewing machine (without thread) to pierce
the paper. It worked very well. You can also get newsprint or exam table
paper from Amazon.

Forgot to say that I would not recommend adding the 1/4 seam allowance afterwards. You need that 1/4" seam allowance while