Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 49

Thread: Malicious content in ad?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    254
    I clicked on a post this morning, and McAfee sent up an alarm that one of the ads at the top of the page was blocked for malicious content. I got out of that post really fast, and then went back later and got no alarm (different ad).

    anyone else have this happen?

  2. #2
    Super Member sahm4605's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Blue Springs, MO
    Posts
    2,240
    That's weird. Never had that happen to me. Abreast that I know of.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    254
    I tried to hover over the URL of the ad to see where it was going, but just got a bunch of gobbly-gook.

  4. #4
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    VIRGINIA
    Posts
    22,496
    never had that happen

  5. #5
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,478
    Blog Entries
    43
    nope, have never seen that on the QB

  6. #6
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7,167
    Blog Entries
    3
    if you can, take a screen shot if you encounter this event again.

    attach the screen shot to an email report to [email protected]

    the board itself is not infected by any viruses, adware, or malware. the techs will want to know right away if any of the target sites in the rotating ads are suspect.

  7. #7
    QKO
    QKO is offline
    Super Member QKO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Western Nevada
    Posts
    2,528
    The ads all come from google ads, and the urls always look like gobbledygook. One would think that google ads are vetted, so it could be that McAfee is throwing up a false positive.

    I wouldn't click on it though... :)

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    dallas tx.
    Posts
    4,566
    Blog Entries
    3
    I got on my computer a day or so ago and got on a post that was pretty rank. I've looked for it , but it is gone. I would have reported it to theboard if I could have found it again. but....

  9. #9
    Senior Member nance-ell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    830
    That happens to me often these days. Not sure exactly what's going on.

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,216
    Never happened to me.

  11. #11
    Senior Member wvhill22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    662
    Blog Entries
    9
    I never click on the ads.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    254
    I will do that, Patrice. Don't know why I didn't think of it at the time. I was just in a hurry to get outta there. LOL

    I didn't click on the ad - just hovered over it trying to see where it was coming from.

  13. #13
    Junior Member Jazzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Denver area
    Posts
    270
    I wonder if that's why my computer kicks me out of this site every so often?

  14. #14
    Super Member JulieR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Emmitsburg, MD
    Posts
    1,624
    If your virus protection has already blocked the ad there's no need to run away.

    Right-click on the ad and select copy link location (or copy link), then paste it into Notepad or Word or something. I like notepad because it doesn't show it as a clickable link, just as text.

    One you paste the URL, look toward the end. (In Notepad turn on WordWrap to make it easier on yourself). The URL for the target site is listed.

    For instance, I have a PRWeb / Vocus ad on this post right now. I right-clicked on it and copied the link to Notepad:

    http://ad.doubleclick. net/click%3Bh%3Dv8/3b9b/2/0/%2a/y%3B236080528%3B0-0%3B0%3B59384825%3B3454-728/90%3B40601522/40619309/1%3B%3B%7Esscs%3D%3fhttp://googleads.g.doubleclick.net/a...344&adurl=http://service.prweb.com/go/psg_dcobrand_ba/%3Futm_source%3Dgoogle%26utm_medium%3Dcpc%26utm_ca mpaign%3Dpsg_dcobrand_ba&nm=3

    Near the bottom you can see http://service.prweb.com is the target site (everything after that just tells that site where you came from).

    Probably clear as mud but I thought I'd share, in case it helps the next time. :)

  15. #15
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,381
    This is not exactly what happened to you, but every once in a while the message board causes my browser to shut down when I click on a link. The messae I get is something like: "this website is causing the browser to close". I'm not smart enough to know exactly where the problem is.

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    254
    Okay...came back here and now one is blocked at the bottom. It's from the same source. I have done a screen shot of it, along with the source code and am mailing it to the address that Patrice suggested earlier.

  17. #17
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    indiana
    Posts
    1,412
    day after i got my pc,got e-mails from someone named "rachael".my sister had warned me NOT to click on ANY e-mails i didn't rec ocognizze,but i have a friend named rachael,so i did.BIG MISTAKE!!!!i got porno e-mails for WEEKS!!!
    dar

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    254
    Too funny! This post went to the second page, and now there is one blocked on the top, and on the bottom. Same place - "http://bidder. mathtag.com/notify"

    don't try to go there. LOL

  19. #19
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,637
    Blog Entries
    1
    I use adblock with firefox so I don't see ads. However, I had to use another browser recently (I can't even remember why) and got a warning.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    533
    I've had something happen a few times lately that has never happened before. I'll click on to a post and hear a voice say "congratulations, you've just won"....... or "you're a winner".... anybody else experience this?

  21. #21
    Super Member JulieR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Emmitsburg, MD
    Posts
    1,624
    Quote Originally Posted by oh munner
    I've had something happen a few times lately that has never happened before. I'll click on to a post and hear a voice say "congratulations, you've just won"....... or "you're a winner".... anybody else experience this?
    That happens on any site that allows ads with audio content. It isn't any different from seeing an ad; you're just hearing it, too.

  22. #22
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,637
    Blog Entries
    1
    I hate audio ads and flashing/scrolling ads, as well as the popup ads. If I didn't have adblock I wouldn't go to sites that have those. I hate them that much.

  23. #23
    Senior Member ChaiQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    496
    I never click on any of the links in the ads or the posts. I'm afraid of viruses.

  24. #24
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,637
    Blog Entries
    1
    I don't think these need to be clicked in order to cause the warnings. Just having them on the page is enough. I never click ads, ever. I have clicked links in posts but only after I make sure it's a site I know about.

  25. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    170
    I have the same problem as Casual Quilter. And, those pop-ups for YP.com and Congratulations! You're a winner! come up to even tho my computer is set up to not allow pop-ups. :(

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.