Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Marking design onto quilt >

Marking design onto quilt

Marking design onto quilt

Old 01-18-2021, 02:10 PM

Default Marking design onto quilt

I have read several threads on this subject and come across terminology I'm unfamiliar with. You were all a great help with my first question--I'm a novice--so thought maybe you'd help with this. My difficulty is finding something that marks onto dark fabric--even so-called white marking pens don't work well.

What is water soluble stabilizer? Does it work for marking a design on and then stitching through?

What is a pounce pad? Does it involve chalk and, if so, how do you keep the chalk from brushing away before stitching is completed?

I do know about Golden Thread paper and have used it, although I really do wish it were water soluble so that picking the tiny bits out of sharp corners wasn't such a hassle!
Old 01-18-2021, 02:54 PM
Gay

Water soluble stabilizer - Mainly used when one doesn't want a permanent stabilizer left behind, or to hold down the 'fluff' on towels and fleecy fabrics when machine embroidering. It washes out. It would work for what you suggest depending on what you mark with, There are different types. But be careful, don't use felt pens or ink as the stitching will take up the inks and can't be removed.

A pounce pad can just be powdered chalk tied up in a bit of fabric, and dabbed over a stencil to leave the pattern. I have never used one, I'd rather use a sharpened chalk stick.
Old 01-18-2021, 04:02 PM

I have a Fons and Porter marking pen. it actually functions just like a mechanical pencil, but the "pencil lead" pieces are white and mark on dark fabric really well. water will take the marks away.

I have never used a pounce pad, but from what I understand, you would just use it to mark a small area at a time. otherwise, yes, the markings would rub away when the quilt bunches up or whatever.