Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Me and my machine are not seeing eye to eye >

Me and my machine are not seeing eye to eye

Me and my machine are not seeing eye to eye

Old 01-22-2010, 02:08 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 55
Default

I had my machine serviced/cleaned last week and I have a feeling that something strange went on in the shop. Ever since I got it back I've had loops on the back of the quilt (with the bobbin thread) when I've been trying to free motion. It almost looks as if the top tension is too loose, but I've tried everything to fix it.

I've NEVER had this before. Absolutely never. I've re-threaded the machine about a million times. I've changed the needle and the bobbin and the thread and everything else I can think of. I've tried every single tension setting while moving the fabric fast and slow at all the different speed settings. I took the entire thing apart (as much as I was comfortable) looking for loose threads. I seriously cant find a thing wrong.

Normal sewing is fine, but the minute I drop the feed dogs, the loops come back.

Like I said, I've never had this problem before. I'm going back to the store tomorrow to try and figure out what's going wrong. It's just very frustrating.

Kristy
kmohan is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 02:27 PM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
amma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Out searching for some sunshine :-)
Posts: 58,857
Default

I would take the machine back and ask them to readjust it :D:D:D
amma is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 02:28 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Darlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,882
Default

I had this problem on my older machine and the bobbin case was bent. Maybe the repair people bent yours accidently.
Darlene is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 02:30 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
vicki75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Burkburnett TX
Posts: 328
Default

Oh my gosh...I'm having flashbacks to Christmas Eve when I had a mini melt down. My machine was doing the same thing. I wanted to chuck it out the window. I had mine serviced after Christmas and now it seems to be ok. I feel your pain! What kind of machine do you have?
vicki75 is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 03:13 PM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Marjpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Greater Los Angeles Area
Posts: 1,903
Default

Originally Posted by amma
I would take the machine back and ask them to readjust it :D:D:D
Yes - take it back immediately with a sample to show them. They must have done something!
Marjpf is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 04:35 PM
  #6  
Super Member
 
Shemjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 6,885
Default

I would be very upset. Then I would take it back to the shop where it was serviced. It has to come back so you can USE it!
Shemjo is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 05:29 PM
  #7  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SW Iowa
Posts: 32,856
Default

It sounds like they didn't adjust something right. Take it back and tell them what it's doing.
littlehud is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 05:38 PM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 55
Default

It's a Janome QDC 4100. It was purchased new in the summer and it shouldn't be giving me fits.

I want to cry a little.
kmohan is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ThayerRags
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
13
12-16-2013 10:09 AM
butterflywing
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
39
07-25-2012 10:50 AM
AnneT
Pictures
143
08-22-2011 06:47 PM
donnaree59
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
7
06-08-2011 03:56 PM
Ditter43
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
8
05-04-2011 03:12 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.