Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Mites in cotton fabric

Unhappy Mites in cotton fabric

Is there any one else who has been bitten by mites in cotton fabric? Does anyone have a solution?

Blog Entries
    sounds like the fabric needs to be washed- disinfected- i have been sewing for over 45 years now---and have never had any type of bugs in my fabrics....lucky i guess
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

Blog Entries
    i agree that a thorough washing of ALL that fabric is in order. How are you storing your fabric?
    Martina
    Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Fabric!

Blog Entries
    Well, the two things I've heard of are putting things in the freezer for a day or two, and putting things in the dryer on high heat. If it were me, I'd do the dryer, then wash on an extended load with water as hot as I dared, then dryer again.

On the other hand, if I wasn't very attached to the fabric, I'd toss it.

I haven't washed my fabric, some is over 20yrs old, but their folded on sturdy metal storage racks.

Thanks for your reply.

Blog Entries
    Have you narrowed it down to the fact that it is coming from your fabric???? Do you have animals? Could it be fleas?
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheQuiltedPig

Perhaps the fabric was stored in a warehouse prior to being shipped to the store and they might have gotten into the fabric then. OR fabric is shipped by train car, maybe whatever was in the train car prior to the fabric had mites. Just WAY-OUT-THERE thoughts.
    http://www.oregonquilting.net