Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Mixing Machine Applique and Hand Applique >

Mixing Machine Applique and Hand Applique

Mixing Machine Applique and Hand Applique

Old 06-19-2017, 07:19 AM
Power Poster

Default Mixing Machine Applique and Hand Applique

I have tried hand applique two times a couple of years apart. I am not good at it. I wonder if I could prepare the piece the way I do for machine (with Wonder Under) and then stitch around the edges by hand.

Has anyone tried this? Were you successful?
Old 06-19-2017, 08:06 AM
Banned

[ATTACH=CONFIG]574920[/ATTACH]

If you can see what I did here
Attached Thumbnails 100_0431.jpg  
Old 06-19-2017, 09:11 AM
Power Poster

​The only problem you may have is it may be tough to hand sew through. Try it on a scrap and see.
Old 06-19-2017, 10:35 AM
Power Poster

I think Wonder Under is rather difficult to hand sew through. This type of work is done, but you might find it easier using a different fusible. I'm not sure which one is easiest, though. If no one responds with a suggestion, you might want to buy small amounts of several fusibles and test out which is easiest to hand sew.
Old 06-19-2017, 11:08 AM

I've done it using the really cheap fusible that Joann's sells, it's a 10 yard piece on a cardboard "bolt" for $10ish. Worked well for me. I bought several of these when they were $3 on Black Friday.
Old 06-20-2017, 05:48 PM

maybe try freezer paper and turn the edged over with that and then remove the freezer paper? I friend who is a wonderful applique artist does it that way-she actually uses a washable fabric glue to turn ad glue the edge to the non-shiny side of the freezer paper template.
Old 06-21-2017, 01:37 AM

I find fusible web a bit stiff for hand applique, but give it a try. You might like just putting the web stuff around the outside edges of the shape, leaving a "window" in the middle. That might make the end result a little softer.