Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
More than two colors >

More than two colors

More than two colors

Old 04-23-2007, 06:00 AM
Ina

I have a question that I hope I can get some help with. I am new at quilting, and just learned how to match perfect seams. My new problem is I have a hard time matching more than two colors at a time. I can't get three colors to go together. What am I doing wrong? Do I put prints and plain colors together, or use just plain or just prints. I am not sure just what to do. I don't want to cut into the cloth until it is correct. Any ideas I will welcome. Ina :?
Old 04-23-2007, 08:31 AM

Ina, there are many helpful books to help with color choices....Color Magic for Quilters by Ann Seely and Joyce Stewart, or from Rodales Successful Quilting Library the volume Creative Guide to Color and Fabric,or you could go to www.aboutsewing.com and find some answers to the question. I was once told to go look in my closet put together a few outfits....My color coordination and mixing shows there...not any different in quilting. Another way is to get a floral with many colors in it and then match the various colors with the main one. Prints or plain works fine. Nothing is one color in nature. These are pretty much everyday methods. Now if you are into a more modern approach....check your artwork. Truly though anything goes....quilts are an expression of your vision...See it, feel it, make it, share it! That's all there is to it. Would love to see what you do. Good luck.
Old 04-23-2007, 08:55 AM

I came from the generation that didn't mix any prints, didn't do brown with orange, blue with green, red with much of anything except navy or white. I had to learn to rethink what is ok, and go with stuff I like rather than follow the "rules" I learned so long ago. Look at lots of pictures of quilts in books, magazines, online anywhere. See what you like and what you don't and go from there. :-)
Old 04-23-2007, 09:04 AM

Ina,