Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Much Ado About So Little >

Much Ado About So Little

Much Ado About So Little

Old 09-28-2015, 09:22 AM

Default Much Ado About So Little

My 4-year-old grandson wanted a quilt, and I wanted to make one quickly, so I chose to make really large blocks. He chose the car fabric. My drawings all looked great on paper with colored pencils, but I had to rip nearly the whole thing apart since the original blue that looked great in the store turned out to be periwinkle at home. His name is Clayton, so I thought I'd use Clay's Choice for the alternate blocks and make sashing that would resemble intersections of roads. I absolutely hate the outcome, but just don't have the energy to start again, and I figure a kid his age won't care much. But I could sure use help in coming up with a quilting strategy, since I want to try to machine quilt this, and I'm a true beginner at that. Will you help? Bless you all for your wonderful ideas!
Attached Thumbnails claytons-quilt-top.jpg  
Old 09-28-2015, 09:31 AM

It looks good to me. I understand what you mean when you say it looked great in the store - that happens with their lighting, sometimes I ask to take the fabric outside or to a door before I have it cut, because it does change. Your grandson is going to like it because he wanted a quilt from his grandmother and now he has it.
Old 09-28-2015, 09:40 AM
Power Poster

I think you have just been looking at it too closely. (I usually dislike my tops until they are quilted). I would just do an all over stipple or loops and would use white thread for the whole thing. It's probably going to be a dragger so you need to secure it well. He is just going to love it!
Old 09-28-2015, 09:46 AM
Power Poster

I too see no problem with it and really he's the one you want to please. Now would be a good time to practice some simple FMQ using a thread that blends.
Old 09-28-2015, 09:58 AM
Power Poster