Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need Advise Again Hand quilters. >

Need Advise Again Hand quilters.

Need Advise Again Hand quilters.

Old 02-27-2012, 04:38 AM

Default Need Advise Again Hand quilters.

As most of you are aware I am new to quilting. I am to the point that I need to start top stitching. I'm not sure what pattern I want or should stitch. How do you decide on what to top stitch? Here is the quilt pattern I used Different colors plus a few differences. Any and all suggestions are welcomed. Also, Joanns has some computer software for quilting by " Electric Quilt Company" Has anyone used any of this? How easy or not is it to transfer the design to your quilt? Or is just using a regular plastic stencil what works Best?

Thanks again for the help.

Diane

http://www.blankquilting.com/ImageDi...e=QuiltMaster1

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 02-27-2012 at 05:14 AM. Reason: make link active
Old 02-27-2012, 04:43 AM

I like to echo quilt. Sometimes on a "curvy" quilt I do straight lines and a straight quilt do meandering (curves).
Old 02-27-2012, 05:01 AM

Software like Electric Quilt Company is for designing quilts, it is not simple to use and you will need to take classes to learn it. If you are starting out in quilting, learn how to make quilts without the software - no reason to use it now and I think it will make you very frustrated. There are plenty of quilting magazines and books around to learn from, and I bet if you check with any quilters you know you will be given magazines. Quiltmaker magazines are excellent to learn from and they do give topstitching/quilting suggestions.
Old 02-27-2012, 05:18 AM
dd

Check your library. I know mine has books just on quilting motifs. Also our quilt guild has a library. These are mostly books and mags that people have donated but the info in them is still good. I didn't get a picture to come up, not surprising with my computer, so can't comment on what quilting to do.
Old 02-27-2012, 05:28 AM
Power Poster