Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
need advise please >

need advise please

need advise please

Old 09-22-2013, 01:06 PM

Default need advise please

is anybody familier with Pat Speth? I sign up for her workshop oct 2 and I am going to make this http://www.patspeth.com/workshops.html flying home from bali bali the only thing I know is to bring 5x5 sqrs plus of course machine mat ect ect! is this consider a scrappy? would the lighter color be the main fabric? and dose anybody have any idea how it is put together? I'm new to this and I'm thinking it's something like putting a color 5x5 on to a whiteish /lite 5x5 sqr and drawing 2 diagnol lines and sewing 1/4 inch from the lines it's half sqr triangles and 4 patch this is my very first workshop and I like to practice some blocks before going so I have an idea and won't get lost in the schuffle, appreciate any help thanks......mandy
Old 09-22-2013, 01:20 PM

Pat Speth is the author of the "Nickel Quilt" books , they are based on using 5 inch squares of fabric. They are my favorite inspiration for scrap quilts. I like to use a light white on white or natural color fabric when I work on her patterns , as the background. The pattern you refer is made up of a few basic units.. Relax and let the class guide you through the methods. If you must practice... buy the book with the pattern and her instructions. Each of her books has many nice patterns so its a good buy for the money.

Last edited by Lori S; 09-22-2013 at 01:26 PM.
Old 09-22-2013, 01:25 PM

The link you gave shows the bali bali quilt you mentioned. It looks like flying geese and nine patches. Very pretty, should be fun.
Old 09-22-2013, 01:34 PM

Originally Posted by mandyrose View Post