Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Need help with fabric for a Bargello quilt

Hi all! I have decided to try the tutorial for a Bargello quilt that Barb_Mo made but I really need help with my fabrics. I am just not sure how to get that sort of fading look. I hope my pictures are ok, this is my first time doing this!

Thanks so much!

All strips together
    Name:  Attachment-69944.jpe
Views: 716
Size:  71.8 KB

1-6
    Name:  Attachment-69945.jpe
Views: 388
Size:  61.7 KB

7-11
    Name:  Attachment-69946.jpe
Views: 388
Size:  82.8 KB

I would try to put them in order from light to dark, then take a black and white photo. That should really help you make sure they're in the correct order for the fading you're looking for.

bj
    I think it would look nice to put the yellows/tan together and fade light to dark, then put the blues together and fade light to dark. But I've never made one, so I could be totally off base. I like fabric choices. The yellow with the little white flowers is my favorite.

Pam
    #10 is going to read really light, it has to be moved down. The same with #7. carefully lay all of your fabrics together on your scanner and make a b+w copy, THEN you can see the values.

Here's how I see them from darkest to lightest (blues to yellows):
    11, 9, 8, 5, 2, 6, 3, 10, 4, 1, 7.

Quote Originally Posted by mytwopals
    I think I would agree. Is it possible to put them in this order and then take a picture to post so we could see it? (Don't you love this board? It's like having a thousand quilting buddies over to the house but you don't have to clean and you can invite them any time you're ready, even the middle of the night!) :-D :-D

Quote Originally Posted by IrishNY