Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Need help!! Opinions???

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    8,824
    Blog Entries
    14

    Cool Need help!! Opinions???

    I have sewing machine but it is a straight stitch.. Id like a machine that zig zags and a few embroidery stitches nothing elaborate. I found a Janome RX_18s online for 200. Brand new cord still wrapped in plastic. Are they good machines?/ Is this worth it?? cant get the picture to load. thank you!!



    * Hidden tension dial
    * Handy fold-down carrying handle
    * Presser foot lifter
    * Pattern selector dial
    * Stitch length dial
    * Convenient one-hand thread cutter
    * Quick presser foot conversion
    * One step buttonhole
    * Fail safe needle insertion
    * Reverse stitch lever
    * Extension table and free arm
    * Drop feed lever


    Janome RX-18S domestic sewing machine

    Janome RX-18S sewing machine presser foot



    New Home SW2018E
    Janome RX-18S


    RX-18S Stitch Pattern



    Standard Accessories:




    * Automatic Buttonhole Foot R


    * Zig-Zag Foot A

    * Hemmer Foot 2mm D


    * Bobbins (4)

    * Set of Needles


    * Seam Ripper

    * Zipper Foot E


    * Hem Guide

    * Screwdriver


    * Oil

  2. #2
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,952
    Blog Entries
    1
    All I could find about this model was this:
    http://www.buysewingmachines.com/hom...18s/rx18s.html
    Looks like a very basic machine to me, and definitely not a really popular machine or there would have been more Google hits on it.

    Is there a reason why you want to buy online? If you haven't checked out local dealerships for used machines, I would do that first. It may be a decent machine, but for $200 you can buy a decent machine at Walmart and other local places.

  3. #3
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    6,117
    I agree, you can get a decent brother for 200 at walmart with good reviews or off amazon.com or overstock.com I would do a little research before you buy to see what you can get for your money. Also check all reviews of your machine. here is an awesome website for machine reviews
    http://sewing.patternreview.com/

  4. #4
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,356
    Quote Originally Posted by Dolphyngyrl View Post
    I agree, you can get a decent brother for 200 at walmart with good reviews or off amazon.com or overstock.com I would do a little research before you buy to see what you can get for your money. Also check all reviews of your machine. here is an awesome website for machine reviews
    http://sewing.patternreview.com/
    Ditto!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    8,824
    Blog Entries
    14
    Thanks everyone! I tried to get reviews. Ppl were looking for manual and gave positive reviews. I'd also have to pay to have it shipped! I think I'll pass for now. I appreciate your advice!!

  6. #6
    Senior Member sewgray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Houston area
    Posts
    897
    Janome has a good reputation but none of the lower end machines, no matter which brand, are going to live up to the rep. I bought a little refurbished Brother from Sewing Machines Plus to take to classes and I love it. Only paid $130 plus shipping. It's not like my Bernina's but for what I wanted it's worth every penny. The only thing about buying at Walmart is if you don't like it you can take it back.
    Lord, please keep your arm around my shoulder and your hand over my mouth.

  7. #7
    Power Poster sharon b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    20,405
    Blog Entries
    10
    I have the Brother cs6000i got it about 5 years ago from Walmart . com for 199.00 shipping was 99 cents I think - my sister, mom and friend got the Brother 9500 last year in the store for 199.00 my SiL got the Brother 9550 this year in the store for 199.00 None of us have had any problems . Maybe give them a look- see
    To keep your mind fresh- learn one new thing a day !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.