Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Need info on labels

I have to give a talk about labeling your quilt for our guild--don't why I was picked as I am fairly new to quilting. So I need input. How do you label and what info do you include. The labels I have used I made on the computer and they seem to be holding up well. Does anyone else use computer labels?

OK let me hear from you ladies. I have always been able to get lots of good help here.

Beverly

Banned
    I generally hand print my labels.

And this tip is a do as I say, not as I do... but

It is said that you should attach the label BEFORE you quilt , so the label is under the quilting...

With quilts becoming worth more money, not to mention the expense you put into the matrials, they have become a high theft item..

If the label is under the quilting, it cannot be easily removed and if it was removed it would be evident..

There are even web sites dedicated to "Lost" Quilts.

I bought a book of iron on quilt labels. You select, and iron on a piece of fabric. These have flowers and info that I color and write on with textile markers. I then sew them on the back :D

Quote Originally Posted by jstitch
    I generally hand print my labels.

And this tip is a do as I say, not as I do... but

It is said that you should attach the label BEFORE you quilt , so the label is under the quilting...

With quilts becoming worth more money, not to mention the expense you put into the matrials, they have become a high theft item..

If the label is under the quilting, it cannot be easily removed and if it was removed it would be evident..

There are even web sites dedicated to "Lost" Quilts.
    Judy, I never thought about people actually stealing quilts!!! How awful!!!!