Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need some help...please >

Need some help...please

Need some help...please

Old 10-11-2011, 06:09 AM

My mother in law who was 93 passed away on Sept. 30th., we are going through her things and I was given a lot of her sweatshirts and tops and few pair of jeans to make quilts from for the family. I have never used these type of items before and need some help in making sure I don't mess them up since they will be treasured by many family members...could you folks help to get me going down the right path? Many sweat shirts and tops have flowers, and scenes on them so I wanted to use that part in the quilts. Of course the sweat shirts are much heavier then the tops and jeans so that's another issue I'm not sure about. Please, any help would be appreciated.
Old 10-11-2011, 06:14 AM

you could use an iron on stabilizer to equal out the weight. there are different weights to stablilizer, from lite to heavy. and it would stabilize the fabric.
Old 10-11-2011, 06:18 AM

Originally Posted by Judith1005
you could use an iron on stabilizer to equal out the weight. there are different weights to stablilizer, from lite to heavy. and it would stabilize the fabric.
I agree..... have seen many quilts made from t-shirts and I know they have a stabilizer on the back to keep them from stretching.

You have quite a job ahead of you..... and having done a quilt for someone that was passing..... it's hard to see the fabric through the tears at times. You are a very special person to do this..... hope all appreciate your work.
Old 10-11-2011, 06:24 AM
Power Poster

I am sorry to hear about the passing from your mother in law. My symphaties for you and the family. What a beautiful age she lived to be, 93. You got a big job ahead of you but I know this will be very special to both you and the recipients.