Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 71

Thread: Need your opinion! Which layout and border is better?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    19

    Need your opinion! Which layout and border is better?

    Which layout and border is better?
    Attached Images Attached Images


  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    19
    Sorry they are flipped sideways, don't know how that happened. But thanks for your opinions in advance!

  3. #3
    Super Member sahm4605's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Blue Springs, MO
    Posts
    2,240
    i like the green but maybe needs a thin yellow first to help break it up but that is just me.
    when life gets you down go and talk with a little kid. They will help you work out even the worst problems with their simple logic.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    1,807
    To me, the green is soothing, the pink makes it pop more. So, it depends on what you want to accomplish, or who is getting the quilt.

  5. #5
    Senior Member EdieClay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ten Mile, Tennessee
    Posts
    868
    I like the pink the better.

  6. #6
    Super Member Podunk Princess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    1,524
    My preference is the green one. I like the way the colors are all balanced in that one.
    Miss Rita

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Littleton, CO
    Posts
    24
    I like the pink.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    47
    I like the pink border. I think with the first one that much pink takes the focus away from the other strips in your quilt.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    19
    I was gonna do a Jelly Roll Race with this jelly roll but when I opened it up there were only 6 different fabrics. So trying to do the best I can with it. Do you think I could have done the jelly roll race with so much repetition in the fabrics?

  10. #10
    Super Member petthefabric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Eastern Madera County, Ca
    Posts
    1,672
    I like the green because it looks like a complete quilt. The pink looks like 4 groups with sashing.
    I like the pink because it's happier. In the green the pink strips almost look like bars.

  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    dallas tx.
    Posts
    5,004
    Blog Entries
    3
    Well, either one is very, very pretty. Do which one you like.

  12. #12
    Super Member ArtsyOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Canadian in Minnesota
    Posts
    3,062
    I like the second one
    A fabric stash is always missing that one fabric needed to finish the quilt on which you're working.

  13. #13
    Super Member IrishNY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    was Upstate NY, now Winston-Salem NC
    Posts
    2,166
    I like the green one. The pink one looks unfinished somehow.
    I'd rather be at the lake

    Do one thing every day that scares you... Eleanor Roosevelt

  14. #14
    Super Member Delta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Waco Texas
    Posts
    1,176
    Blog Entries
    1
    if you really really want the orange to stand out use the first one and the green stands out in the second one I like them both.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Haverhill, MA
    Posts
    492
    Blog Entries
    2
    why not use both? 1/2 the borders in green and 1/2 in the pink. then you can strip piece the binding as well......give it a different look

  16. #16
    Super Member GailG's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    6,762
    Quote Originally Posted by yngldy View Post
    To me, the green is soothing, the pink makes it pop more. So, it depends on what you want to accomplish, or who is getting the quilt.
    I agree with this. Also liked the previous idea of a narrow yellow border before the pink or green border.
    One step at a time, always forward.

  17. #17
    Super Member leatheflea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    martinsville Indiana
    Posts
    4,479
    My vote is pink, its stops the quilt.

  18. #18
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    33,726
    I like the green border.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  19. #19
    Super Member 0tis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    2,671
    Green is my favorite color - but I really like the second photo - looks red or pink - that's the one I like.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    491
    I AGONIZE over these decisions. Sometimes these decisions can drive me CRAZY, lol! But, Imo, i think I would do more then one border. I like both layouts..both are great! But I think a multiple border would frame your center, give it cohesiveness, and finish it.

  21. #21
    Super Member Dina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,306
    I like the green the best. You have so many votes for each color....so that makes it seem that either color would work just fine. Good luck on your decision.

    Dina

  22. #22
    Super Member AliKat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,944
    I agree with yngldy. Both are good but what is your preference for the room or person the quilt is going to?
    Have fun quilting! If it isn't fun, you will miss a lot.
    ali

  23. #23
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    47,849
    Blog Entries
    53
    i'm partial to the red, but either would work.
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

  24. #24
    Super Member Annie68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    1,456
    I like the pink

  25. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    139
    Like the pink much better than the green. it brings the quilt to life.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.