Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Needle Unthreading Problem After Automatic Thread Cuts-Figured It Out!! >

Needle Unthreading Problem After Automatic Thread Cuts-Figured It Out!!

Needle Unthreading Problem After Automatic Thread Cuts-Figured It Out!!

Old 01-16-2014, 07:19 AM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tulsa, Ok
Posts: 4,498
Default Needle Unthreading Problem After Automatic Thread Cuts-Figured It Out!!

Although I love the automatic thread cutting feature on my machine (Juki TL2010Q), it leaves a very short thread 'tail', and I was getting REALLY frustrated with my needle coming unthreaded before sewing the next piece and constantly having to re-thread the needle. FINALLY I figured out that if I inserted the fabric of the next piece further under the presser foot so that the VERY FIRST down-thrust of the needle goes through the fabric (rather than just going down into 'thin air' the first stitch), it seems to catch almost always and no more constant re-threading the needle. Duh....... Maybe I am the only slow learner here, but just in case you are having the same issue, this tip may be helpful to you!
Jeanne S is offline  
Old 01-16-2014, 07:43 AM
  #2  
Super Member
 
snipforfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,877
Default

Good tip, however the solution is to turn down the tension a little at a time til you get the tail length you want. I also dont use the cutter when using invisible thread as it springs back too much
snipforfun is offline  
Old 01-16-2014, 08:36 AM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 1,293
Default

Good tip on the invisible tread, snipforfun!
I just manually pull my thread out from the needle before I start again. But I've also found that if you gently pull the fabric out towards the back, it seems to help.
Sunnye is offline  
Old 01-16-2014, 09:18 AM
  #4  
Power Poster
 
BellaBoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Front row
Posts: 14,647
Default

I had the same problem with my Brother 1500. I could have no tension at all and the needle would come unthreaded so it wasn't a tension issue. The Brother has a three hole bar at the top. I was threading two or three of the holes as the manual showed. I now use only the first hole only as a thread guide and the needle does not come unthreaded when I use the thread cutter.

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 01-16-2014 at 10:04 AM. Reason: remove negativity
BellaBoo is offline  
Old 01-16-2014, 09:30 AM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 8,091
Default

Originally Posted by BellaBoo View Post
I was threading two or three of the holes as the manual showed. I now use only the first hole only as a thread guide and the needle does not come unthreaded when I use the thread cutter.
What Bella said.
Peckish is offline  
Old 01-16-2014, 09:31 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
alleyoop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,355
Default

Thanks for the tip. I am having the same problem with my new Bernina - so I have just started to grab the thread and pull it out a little.
alleyoop1 is offline  
Old 01-16-2014, 10:33 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Colony, TX
Posts: 3,364
Default

Also (especially if you have a new machine) you might want to check with your local dealer. I believe sometimes there are some adjustment that they can do to help with that.
quiltstringz is offline  
Old 01-17-2014, 09:37 AM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
Default

Originally Posted by BellaBoo View Post
I had the same problem with my Brother 1500. I could have no tension at all and the needle would come unthreaded so it wasn't a tension issue. The Brother has a three hole bar at the top. I was threading two or three of the holes as the manual showed. I now use only the first hole only as a thread guide and the needle does not come unthreaded when I use the thread cutter.
Thanks for the tip! I also have a Brother 1500 and have been having issues with unthreading. I will have to try this trick!
laf512 is offline  
Old 01-17-2014, 09:55 AM
  #9  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The middle of an IL cornfield
Posts: 7,014
Default

I'm in the Brother 1500 club, too. I use two holes to stop the unthreading problem because that was suggested here on the board at some point. I'm not sure when or why anyone would use all 3 holes of that thread guide.
Lisa_wanna_b_quilter is offline  
Old 01-18-2014, 06:46 AM
  #10  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 9,018
Default

Phew,.......I am so happy to see this post...I thought it was just me making a bad machine selection(babylock). The auto cut feature, I thought would be great, but then was, am having that same problem..so happy(?)to hear others with other machines are having that same experience......I too have noticed if I scootch that fab just so the first bite is on fab no prob..but when in a hurry and just shove and sew...bingo, no top thread.....I will try adjusting the pressure a bit, if not, road trip to dealer. Baby needs an "adjustment" or trade in!
Geri B is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Aussie4
Main
1
02-09-2015 02:45 PM
cricket_iscute
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
24
06-16-2014 04:37 PM
Weezy Rider
Main
1
11-18-2013 04:32 PM
bizzibee
Main
77
08-03-2013 05:29 AM
Raggiemom
Main
4
03-05-2011 08:46 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.