Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
new to FMQ >

new to FMQ

new to FMQ

Old 02-21-2014, 07:02 AM

Default new to FMQ

I am self thought quilter and learning FMQ on my Juki. My recent quilt poses some challange because I wanted to quilt as it was in the magazine, that includes feathers. I have never done it before and was not eager to do that pattern. After quilting background triangles in wiggly pattern the center blocks needed quilting and I decided to give the feathers a try. Did several trials on test blocks and then started quilting.

It was going quite well, the feathers were coming out fine, fine for me, but when I finally stopped and took a look at the quilt I was so upset for using the same variegated thread that I used on the cream blocks. I am more then half way done and not sure if I should continue with that thread on this blocks or use coordinated thread. I would mean lots of work.
Having so many wonderful quilters on this forum I was wondering if I could get some opinion/advice from you ladies?
thank you
Attached Thumbnails q-2.jpg   q-1.jpg  
Old 02-21-2014, 07:10 AM

I think it looks fine and your feathers are great! Plus the stitching will 'blend in' more after the quilt is washed and crinkles up. I also have a Juki and haven't gotten up the nerve to do FMQ yet, so you give me some courage to keep practicing. That is another reason to keep going, practice will only improve your skills. I also struggle with thread colors in quilting as I prefer my stitching to blend in, but think yours look great. Any several posts on this board recommend going with light colors on darker fabrics just as you have done. Just keep going and finish it!
Old 02-21-2014, 07:40 AM

You just started FMQing? Your feathers look great! I still haven't gotten up the nerve to attempt them. Keep it up!
Old 02-21-2014, 08:21 AM
Power Poster