Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: New and in need of advice!

Hi everyone,
    My name is Chrissy and I am from Niskayuna, NY (close to the state capitol of Albany).

I am brand new to quilting and have very little sewing knowledge. A friend is helping me make my first quilt, but I am using a sewing machine that is probably 35 years old. Even though I just had the machine serviced, I am still having major problems with the tension (bottom thread is loose no matter how I set the tension knob). My husband was going to get me a new machine (my Mother's Day gift) but he was overwhelmed when it came to the choices and now says I must pick out the machine I want. Price is an issue, but I want to get something that is goint to last. So my questions are:
    1. If spending between $300-400, what do all of you recommend?
    2. Can I even get a decent machine for this price? (I'd rather wait and save up more money if the answer is no)

And seperately from the sewing machine questions, what's the best piece of advice you have for a newbie like myself?

Thanks so much for all of your help!

Unfortunately, my sewing machine desires tend to run much higher than the $300-400. That's not saying I can afford what I desire, but they are the ones I keep my eye out for. A while back I went into a Pfaff center to replace a 1/4" and while I was waiting I looked at some nice looking refurbished machines. Have you looked at any refurbished? It may be a way to go until you can get something different.... Good luck

Hi and Welcome from southern Indiana!!