Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
New Quilter here >

New Quilter here

New Quilter here

Old 08-06-2014, 06:52 AM

Thumbs up New Quilter here

Hello everyone, I am new to quilting. I am hoping to make 7 quilts for my granddaughters.
When an older person is living on a fixed income and not much $ left over at end of month, where
do you get fabrics for quilting? I went in a fabric store and walked right out again, LOL didn't realize
fabrics are so expensive these days. Tried to search CL but nothing in my area, and if there is an ad for
free scraps, someone has already grabbed em up. LOL I know I will be posting a lot more in the future
as I have no clue how to put quilts together or quilt them or just tie them. I can make the tops easy enough, cause I have chosen to make log cabin, crazy quilt, and the disappearing nine patch as these seem the easiest to start with. So if I ever get enough fabric to start, I will be back with a million and one questions I am sure. LOL
Old 08-06-2014, 07:00 AM
Power Poster

Welcome from Ontario, Canada. Bonnie Hunter does some of her quilts with material from cotton shirts. Go to her site http:// www.quiltville.blogspot.ca for free patterns as well as tips. She has a video on how to de-bone a shirt to maximize the amount of fabric for quilting in the Tips and Technique section under Deconstructing a man's shirt, I think.

Last edited by Tartan; 08-06-2014 at 07:03 AM.
Old 08-06-2014, 07:18 AM
Power Poster

You can also try Walmart, Joann's and Hobby Lobby (both with coupons), and online sites. All are less expensive than the quilt stores. For even less cost, go to yard sales, thrift stores, and join a quilt guild. (Some guilds have free tables where people share the odds and ends that they don't want to keep.) Fabric is also sold and sometimes given away in the thrift shop and yard sale section of this board - http://www.quiltingboard.com/members...-yard-sale-f6/. Welcome to the board and have fun quilting.