Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
New to quilting and this board, Needing expert advice >

New to quilting and this board, Needing expert advice

New to quilting and this board, Needing expert advice

Old 02-22-2022, 04:25 PM

Default New to quilting and this board, Needing expert advice

I was making a quilt for a friend with some cheap fabric I got online. I was so happy to get it all sown together and then I noticed 2 mistakes. The block at the top of the cross is not dark enough and there are 2 similar blocks touching : (
Do I rip it apart or leave it ?
Is there any other way beside ripping it up to fix this ?

I know the fabric patterns are misaligned, I really tried to make them work but couldn't. I am new to this and still learning the basics.

Attached Thumbnails maya-quilt-top.jpg  
Old 02-22-2022, 04:38 PM

welcome

No no. Do not rip. Wish my first quilt top looked as well made as yours.

Finish this project and then Start a new project and used what you learned with this project.

Each project builds on the projects made before.

Only God is perfect.

enjoy your new interest in quilting. 👍
Old 02-22-2022, 04:48 PM

I think that you are a bit too close to the project and that it is fine as is. Sure, in a perfect world maybe you could take out one of the polka dots (hoping that is the two next to each other that you see!) and switch it with the center, but I read it perfectly clear for what it is, and that the love shines through.

I talk about randomness and aesthetic randomness, true randomness does result in the same fabrics touching and sometimes it results in ugly and generally we are looking for aesthetic/attractive.

Maybe just like your friend and you, the two alike fabrics are supposed to be together!
Old 02-22-2022, 05:05 PM