Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: oh no, wavy border

  1. #1
    Senior Member tortoisethreads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    378
    I've never had this problem before, but my boarder is wavy. I already took it off and made sure the quilt top was perfectly square and then added those boarders. There are still ripples in them. Is there any way to quilt this. I really don't want to keep taking it apart. Oh and I did measure the middle of the quilt to get my boarder measurements.

  2. #2
    Super Member Scissor Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southwest Kansas
    Posts
    4,829
    You can use a batting with a little more loft and add an extra layer of batting to the borders. A batting like Hobbs heirloom has a little bit of loft that helps disguise wavyness. Next time make sure you sew with the quilt top on the bottom and not the borders. Unless you are using an even feed foot of some kind the feed dogs tend to ease in the bottom layer just a bit.

  3. #3
    Senior Member tortoisethreads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    378
    I was wondering about the batting...if I could use a higher loft. I will try that.

  4. #4
    Super Member donnajean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Holland, PA
    Posts
    4,321
    I always cut my top & bottom and then 2 side borders exactly the same length. And then I pin each border starting at ends, center, etc. This helps keep any blocks from stretch out as the border is added.

  5. #5
    Power Poster ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    11,172
    Blog Entries
    1
    or do a running stitch all the way around the pieced top before adding the borders this will help it from stretching when you add the borders..

  6. #6
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    Borders and I do not get along. I usually glue baste them on first starting from each end going to the middle, easing as I go. There is a neat trick I saw on QnnTV about overlapping the wave at the seam line and it can't be seen. I've used that method for big quilt borders. Also I learned to sew all the borders together and then having only one big border to sew around the quilt instead sewing them separately on the quilt.

  7. #7
    Moderator kathy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    on the Texas Coast
    Posts
    4,050
    how could you sew the border on in one piece?

  8. #8
    Super Member Scissor Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southwest Kansas
    Posts
    4,829
    Quote Originally Posted by kathy
    how could you sew the border on in one piece?
    Maybe she means binding? I've noticed a lot of people seem to say one when they mean the other.

  9. #9
    Super Member dakotamaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    South central Nebraska, US
    Posts
    5,585
    Quote Originally Posted by tortoisethreads
    I've never had this problem before, but my boarder is wavy. I already took it off and made sure the quilt top was perfectly square and then added those boarders. There are still ripples in them. Is there any way to quilt this. I really don't want to keep taking it apart. Oh and I did measure the middle of the quilt to get my boarder measurements.
    Wavy borders are a ongoing problem with quilting. This is the way I do mine. I measure thru the middle and both sides, than average those measurements. I repeat this process for the top and bottom. I also sew the borders on with the border strip on the top. The bottom layer of fabric always gets gathered in a bit no matter how well you pin. Another clue is to, when possible, cut your borders from the length of your fabric, there is less stretch than the width. Hope this helps someone.

  10. #10
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    15,177
    Blog Entries
    1
    Did you measure across the center of your top to get the border measurement? It makes a difference. If you cut to the size of the edge, ruffles are a possibility. I usually mark the center and quarter points along the edge and align my borders with those. That way I can ease any fullness or stretch any shortness evenly across the entire length.

  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,321
    The running stitch around the whole quilt sounds like an easy enough thing to do, if it maybe stop the stretching. Going to try today, have to start adding a couple of borders to the quilt I am working on. Thanks for that bit of advice.

  12. #12
    Super Member Annaquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    9,718
    Quote Originally Posted by donnajean
    I always cut my top & bottom and then 2 side borders exactly the same length. And then I pin each border starting at ends, center, etc. This helps keep any blocks from stretch out as the border is added.
    I usually do not do this but if I have a concern it will stretch when I add it I will. I do measure across the center and edges and find average. Then find center of border and pin to center of edge etc. It does work!

  13. #13
    Super Member donnajean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Holland, PA
    Posts
    4,321
    I'm somewhat of a perfectionist & to help assure the quilt will come out better, I always cut the 2 sides & top & bottom borders the exact same length. I use the 12 1/2" square ruller to make sure my corners are squared when trimming off the extra backing & batting in preparation for binding.

  14. #14
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    I meant if I have two or three borders I sew them all together first then only have one border to sew on the quilt. It's easier to miter all of the borders that way too.

  15. #15
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,637
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'm having a similar problem. I got a QFK kit and put it all together. When I went to sandwich it, I found that one of the borders wasn't cut right. It's narrower in one spot than the others (apparently that strip of fabric was cut crooked) and the way it's sewed on, the non-straight side was stitched to the quilt. So there's waviness. I'm debating whether to rip out the border and turn it around so the straighter side is sewn on but then I'll have to remove part of the top and bottom borders as well. At any rate I'll have to trim down all 4 borders because of this and the quilt won't be the right size but I don't have any of the same fabric and there's not much else I can do.

  16. #16
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,370
    have had a tottering time with one this morning--------going to use it for a trash can cover due to mess up--------the ladies on live chat really helped me out of mass depression

  17. #17
    Super Member Doreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    El Paso Tx
    Posts
    1,431
    Have you tried to steam your border? There was a hint in the APQS site about doing this to shrink your borders. They use starch and steam.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.