Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Okay ladies, circle applique techniques >

Okay ladies, circle applique techniques

Okay ladies, circle applique techniques

Old 03-27-2013, 05:47 AM
Banned

Default Okay ladies, circle applique techniques

I'm in the middle of an applique quilt ...

Now after I'm done with the petals I'd like to put a bright yellow circle in the middle. The problem is that I'm not too good with getting smooth circles. Normally I wouldn't care, but this is for a rescue shelter raffle. I'm a hand quilter... so what's my best option?
Old 03-27-2013, 06:00 AM

I have a set of mylar templates, but if you can draw and cut out a circle, you can get the same result. Cut your circle the size you want FINISHED out of tempate material. Cardboard will work, but mylar would be better. Cut out a circle of fabric about 1/2 inch larger. Take a running stitch with a hand needle about 1/4 inch from where you want the edge of your circle to be. Cinch it up like a yoyo around the template. Starch or just press FLAT. Gently pull out the template. pull up the threads again if you want and press again. FLAT. turn it over and you should have a nice circle. If you need pictures, I can probably do some later today. PM me please if you want them. (you can also trim up that seam if you dont' want the stitching left in..but not super close. Clear as mud? lolol)
Old 03-27-2013, 06:03 AM
Cyn

How about a yo yo in the middle- easier to do!?
Old 03-27-2013, 06:23 AM

I use the same method described by soccertxi - it works great on circles, ovals, petals, leaves (even like the shapes in your photo), squares, triangles...so many shapes.... the bit of time you spend making the stiff patterns (old cereal/food package boxes work great but make sure the printed side of the box is NOT facing the fabric when you press) is more than made up in how quickly the applique piece is completed. Good luck.
Old 03-27-2013, 03:33 PM