Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27

Thread: Opinion Please

  1. #1
    Junior Member cindle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    248
    I was just wondering if I could get some opinions ons this idea for Christmas gifts. My cousins and I normally don't exchange gifts at Christmas. I might give them a little stocking with candy and stuff like that in it. Last year my cousins all surprised me and bought me two gifts one of which was really expensive and I had nothing for them in return. As you may have thought I felt horrible then turned around and had to go out and buy them something because I felt so bad. Anyways this year I told them not to buy me anything if they want to get my something then I want them to make it with their own two hands. This got me to thinking when I saw a missiour star quilt company tutorial about the tube pillow cases. I decided that I could ask my cousins there are only 6 of them what their favorite colour was and to pick either their favorite sport team cartoon character or thing ie flowers, music etc and make them personalized tube pillow cases. I'm just wondering what all of you think of this idea? Thanks for your opinion I really appreciate them :)

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    1,044
    I think it is a great idea. It is something that they can not buy & it was made JUST for them. :-D

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    western australia
    Posts
    1,793
    I think whatever you make for them would be great as it is from your heart, but the pillow cases sound great

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Orbiting
    Posts
    1,442
    I've made lots of these for family and friends and they all loved them.

  5. #5
    Super Member I go To The Sea To Breathe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    North Sioux City, SD
    Posts
    1,729
    Blog Entries
    3
    I think that pillowcases are a great way to give to people and they are not hard or expensive to make. I see some of the neatest fabrics put together that I would have never thought to use. I am going to do that this year...can't aford much for people. I did a cute tinkerbell one that I just loved. have fun. Blessings

  6. #6
    Super Member Grama Lehr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Posts
    5,037
    GREAT IDEA!!! :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

  7. #7
    sewTinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    currently living outside of nashville, tn
    Posts
    1,142
    we're having an economical christmas also. I'm doing the same thing You are! tubed pillowcases for Everyone! hahaha...

  8. #8
    Super Member wolph33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Wi
    Posts
    9,993
    great idea.My grandkids always get a quilt and sometimes my kids too.

  9. #9
    Super Member Theresa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Oregon City, OR
    Posts
    1,000
    I've done the pillowcase/gift thing and people love 'em. No matter what, the cases are unique!

  10. #10
    Super Member kriscraft99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Upstate, SC
    Posts
    3,236
    pillowcases are perfect gifts! great idea :)

  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Elmira, NY
    Posts
    6,226
    Wonderful idea! They will be unique and individual for that person, and they will have it near them when they sleep at night! I've read of a lot of people here doing that!

  12. #12
    Super Member Maggiesmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    2,013
    Blog Entries
    1
    Super Idea....think I might make some for gifts myself.

  13. #13
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,450
    Blog Entries
    20
    Awesome idea!

  14. #14
    Super Member Grammy o'5's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    1,325
    Sounds like a great idea to me! :thumbup:
    I have done that in the past. When I make a quilt for my grandkids - if I have enough fabric left over, I make a matching pillowcase.

  15. #15
    Super Member franie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    6,573
    Go for it!

  16. #16
    Beginner64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Medina, NY
    Posts
    148
    I think the tube pillow cases are a excellent idea

  17. #17
    Senior Member Prissnboot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    786
    I personally feel that anyone who looks down their nose at a handmade gift that was given with love is selfish and never deserves another one! Think about it - everything we purchase had to be manufactured in one way or another from raw materials - what difference does it make who assembles it? A few years ago when I heard that the day after Thanksgiving sales at a major discount store (the one that starts with a "W" and ends with an "almart") there was a woman in a wheelchair, and someone else pushed her almost into a wall because she wasn't moving fast enough - I decided then and there that if a gift is to come from me, and I didn't make it, then it doesn't get given. Period. Sometimes people get hot homemade chocolate chip cookies, but it's something I made myself.

  18. #18
    Senior Member EdieClay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ten Mile, Tennessee
    Posts
    868
    Love the idea of pillow cases. I am doing that also for some of my friends and family. I love the Missouri Star Quilt video ... easy to follow. Something you made yourself is special!

  19. #19
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,088
    Blog Entries
    1
    This is a great idea! They will appreciate that you have taken the time to make them, and have personalized them for each one too :D:D:D

  20. #20
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    2,305
    I guess we all have the same idea. My grandkids love these things and they are easy to put together, cheap to mail and are one of a kind!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  21. #21
    Junior Member cindle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    248
    I went to the States today to Jo Ann Fabrics with my 50 and 40 % off coupons. I got enough fabric to make 4 different pillow cases, 2 great big spools of thread and 3 yards of pellon 987F to make my bow tuck tote all for $36.00. So excited can't wait to start sewing :) I'll post pictures when I'm finished.

  22. #22
    tooMuchFabric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    1,275
    Blog Entries
    3
    I love your idea.
    It's personal, and thoughtful, and reasonable.
    I might do that myself here too.
    Good idea.
    .

  23. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    178
    Great idea and won't take up to much of ur holiday time

  24. #24
    Super Member desertrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Northern New Hampshire
    Posts
    1,943
    That's a wonderful idea and personalizing them will by special. You go girl!

  25. #25
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    181
    What darling kitties! I love the orange and white one!

    Dana

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.