Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 81

Thread: Opinion on Warm and Natural

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2,032

    Opinion on Warm and Natural

    Just my opinion and experience (recent). I purchased W&N years ago and always postponed using it "for something special." Well, I finally got around to using it because to be honest, there's only so much time left to wait (lol).

    I love using it but I ended up needing more batting, and I purchased Mountain Mist Ultra Fine. Big difference in how it handles. I am making the quilt as a quilt as you go, and the Warm and Natural stays in place when I am stitching these long strips. The Ultra Fine has to be hand basted first. Not loving it.

    Serita

  2. #2
    Super Member Luv Quilts and Cats's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,708
    I use warm and natural. I love it. I used it when I hand-quilted a small wall hanging and enjoyed working with it, not sure if I will hand quilt again. My larger quilts are quilted by a long-armer and she used warm and natural and I have loved every quilt she has done.
    Luv Quilts and Cats
    Never underestimate the healing effects of beauty. - Florence Nightingale

  3. #3
    Senior Member asimplelife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Northern Minnesota
    Posts
    488
    Warm and Natural is my favorite batting and it sticks so well with spray baste which is a bonus! I try to stock up on it when it goes on sale and finally bought a bolt of it. I live in the boonies so mail order is my life.

  4. #4
    Super Member DebraK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    9,193
    I know I like it. everything except the price ;-)
    I have chosen to be happy because it is good for my health - Voltaire

  5. #5
    Senior Member wannaquilt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    756
    i love it. easy to work with and the quilts turn out so nice and soft and have a more substantial feel from it.

  6. #6
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,882
    Warm & Natural/Warm & White is all I'll use, for quilts. Aside from easy to work with, I like the fact that cotton breathes. I buy it from Hobby Lobby, with a 40% off coupon, off of the roll. I keep promising myself I'll one day just order an entire roll.
    Neesie


    By all means let's be open-minded, but not so open-minded that our brains drop out.
    ~Richard Dawkins

  7. #7
    Super Member Daylesewblessed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    West Texas
    Posts
    1,785
    I like to work with Warm and Natural, but it does shrink, so I pre-soak it. That isn't much fun, but is worth it to me. It also makes a quilt quite heavy, which isn't much of a factor on small quilts.

  8. #8
    Super Member crafterrn1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    1,116
    I use warm and natural as well. I love the feel and the weight of it. I also love the puckering as well when the quilt is washed. The batting is easy to use for hand and machine quilting. Luann in CT
    Live Love and Laugh Enough!

  9. #9
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,460
    Blog Entries
    2
    Are you mixing the W&N with the Ultra Fine in the same quilt? Did you pre-shrink the W&N? Warm & Natural is cotton and will shrink when you wash it, like about 3%, resulting in the noticeable puckering craftern1 mentioned. Ultra Fine is polyester and won't shrink at all. This is also why the Ultra Fine slips, because polyester is slippery. If you combine them in the same quilt, you might have an issue.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  10. #10
    Senior Member liont's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    475
    I primarily use W&N. I used Kyoto bamboo/cotton before. It is fluffier and softer, but too expensive to be used as a staple.
    Believe it or not, I stocked up so much (about 20 Queen sized) before I left US, I am not running out of batting anytime soon! I bought most of them when Joanns' having $9.99 promo.

  11. #11
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    Walmart here sells it by the yard. I usually buy a whole bolt when I see a new one on the shelf or ask the dept manager to order me a bolt. Walmart has the bright white Warm and Natural too. The Walmart price is cheaper then the other places even with a coupon. Wal Mart also has the bamboo batting with no scrim, feels so soft and acts like the WN cotton. I bought a whole bolt of that for $3.98 a yard when it first came out. It is higher in price now but not much. I always keep a check on the batting bolts Walmart gets in. If it is a good price I buy the bolt. It may not be ordered again or available to order. Walmart carries all Pellon products by the yard.
    Last edited by BellaBoo; 10-27-2012 at 08:01 AM.
    Got fabric?

  12. #12
    Super Member Sierra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    northern California
    Posts
    1,084
    I have 2 rolls of w&n! We call it the "mayonaise syndrome" (after we ran out of mayonaise years ago we kept buying more until we had 3 quart bottles!). Sometimes it's hard being me!

  13. #13
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    11,889
    Blog Entries
    1
    I used to use Warm and Natural, but eventually found the drape stiff compared to other battngs. Currently use primarily Hobbs 80/20 or Mountain Mist Blue Ribbon cotton (a very traditional batting), depending on what I am making. There are *huge* differences in quilt batting. Different types are better for different applications. Choice of batting depends a lot on what you are making and the look you are going for. I personally have never tried to mix two different battings in a single quilt. Not only are shrinkage rates different, but drape and handling vary, plus the look of the quilting when finished.

  14. #14
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,882
    Quote Originally Posted by Sierra View Post
    I have 2 rolls of w&n! We call it the "mayonaise syndrome" (after we ran out of mayonaise years ago we kept buying more until we had 3 quart bottles!). Sometimes it's hard being me!
    LOL I've done the same, with Smucker's Simply Fruit Apricots. In the end, I had to beg the kids to take some home with them!
    Neesie


    By all means let's be open-minded, but not so open-minded that our brains drop out.
    ~Richard Dawkins

  15. #15
    Super Member maryb119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    6,721
    I use Warm and Natural or Warm and White for every quilt I make. I machine quilt some and I hand quilt some. It's my favorite batting.

  16. #16
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    19,426
    I would use only one type of batting in any quilt.

  17. #17
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    howell, Mi
    Posts
    2,321
    I only use Warm & Natural. I love it. I usually buy 10--12 yards of the 90 inch wide so I have plenty for awhile. It isn't too expensive when you have a coupon.
    Sue

  18. #18
    Super Member wuv2quilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Morganton, North Carolina
    Posts
    2,927
    My Best friend recently purchased me a bolt of W & N for my B-Day....LOVE it!
    Happiness is a form of travel...not a destination.

  19. #19
    Super Member Scissor Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southwest Kansas
    Posts
    4,829
    I'm going to go against the grain and say I don't like Warm and Natural at all. My favorite is Hobbs 80/20 but I'd use practically anything before I used W&N.

  20. #20
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    9,385
    When I want a batting that has a bit more "structure" to it .. I love warm and Natural. Some time I preshrink it .. sometimes not ... it does tend to be my go to batting.. or when in doubt .. Warm and Natural. I do double bat it sometimes with a poly... I get great results when the warm and natural shrinks and the poly does not it gives more loft and definition to the quilting.... and a much warmer quilt.. with some weight to it.
    I also use Hobbs 80/20 or for very light weight quilts Cream rose or Cream white.

  21. #21
    Super Member sewingsuz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,897
    I love it also, it is easy to work with. I need more now. live far from a Joanns.
    Suzanne
    Asking a seamstress to mend is like asking Picasso to paint your garage.

  22. #22
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Sierra View Post
    I have 2 rolls of w&n! We call it the "mayonaise syndrome" (after we ran out of mayonaise years ago we kept buying more until we had 3 quart bottles!). Sometimes it's hard being me!

    Three? I have 12 jars in my food pantry. We stock six months to a year of all basics that keep. It saves several thousand dollars over a year's time. More quilt money!
    Got fabric?

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    412
    I Have a question about battings. I only do small and wall size quilts and was wondering the best type to use. The wall quilts won't be washed very often and I like a flatter quilt. I'm trying to "big stitch" them and am just learning. I've used flannel on a couple but not sure I like the results. Thanks for any and all help.
    Kathy Osterby

  24. #24
    Super Member auntpiggylpn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
    Posts
    6,916
    Blog Entries
    1
    FYI - At Joann's Veteran's Day sale, which is Nov 8-12, Warm and Natural Packaged Queen Size batting will be on sale for $19.99 each (regular price of $44.99) I'm sending a friend to pick them up for me as I have to work!
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheQuiltedPig

  25. #25
    Super Member k9dancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Mena, Arkansas
    Posts
    1,355
    Blog Entries
    2
    I use Warm and Natural on most of my quilts. If someone gives me some other batting or I find a 75 cent bag of batting at the thrift store, I will use it on small items or practice pieces. For my 'real' quilts, I prefer W&N.
    I did do a batting test earlier this year, and discovered that the bamboo batting that pellon makes handles in a similar fashion to W&N, so I would use it if W&N were not available.
    Stephanie in Mena

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.