Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 7 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 172

Thread: Opinion_Green or pink border?

  1. #1
    Senior Member omaluvs2quilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    924

    Opinion_Green or pink border?

    My daughter is more drawn to cool colors, but loves the bright pink too, just not too much of it. Not finished yet, so top/bottom borders going on today.

    Name:  IMG_0822_copy.jpg
Views: 3062
Size:  210.7 KB

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    451
    I like the green. I love your quilt. Great color choices.

  3. #3
    Super Member MaryMo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    6,483
    The green calms the quilt and the pink makes it pop. Beautiful fabrics together. Your daughter will love it.
    Make it a scrappy happy day!

  4. #4
    Super Member AnnieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    North Essex, England
    Posts
    1,108
    She'll adore it.Beautiful work.
    Annie

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bosque County, Texas
    Posts
    3,028
    I had trouble seeing the green. I would go with the narrow strip of pink.

  6. #6
    Senior Member ShabbyTabby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    946
    I like the pink best IMHO it sets off the whole quilt
    Families are like old quilts....although they tend to unravel at times...each can be stitched back together with love.

  7. #7
    gus
    gus is offline
    Senior Member gus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Grand Meadow MN
    Posts
    325
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like the pink
    Gus Olson

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    dallas tx.
    Posts
    4,570
    Blog Entries
    3
    I really like the pink. Can't see the green.

  9. #9
    Super Member Patchworkmarion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    1,743
    Lovely quilt.I'd go green
    Patchworkmarion

  10. #10
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,537
    Blog Entries
    43
    actually, if you are using just the width in the picture, i'd just use the pink for the binding. i think the pink makes the flowered border look more tied to the quilt.
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak THINK
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    S. Texas
    Posts
    1,929
    I love the pink. Maybe just a tad narrower.


    Quote Originally Posted by barny View Post
    I really like the pink. Can't see the green.

  12. #12
    Junior Member chartwig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Brownsville, WI
    Posts
    128
    pink is my favorite!

  13. #13
    Junior Member geeblay627e120's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, Mo.
    Posts
    139
    Both look good. It is a beautiful quilt. I love all the colors.

  14. #14
    Super Member Fraew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Clayton, CA
    Posts
    1,990
    Blog Entries
    3
    The pink finishes it off for me. Nice work.
    Fraew

    "I don't buy vintage quilts. By the time I finish the quilts I've started they've already become antiques." ~ Mark Lipinski
    Link to my albums: http://www.quiltingboard.com/members...85-albums.html

  15. #15
    Super Member DebbE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,615
    Can't see the green - it takes away from the quilt. The pink leads your eyes to the middle, and is like an exclamation point to a great quilt! Lovely!

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    321
    I would use the green. But that is only my opinion, you do whichever one you like.

  17. #17
    Super Member auntpiggylpn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
    Posts
    6,916
    Blog Entries
    1
    I think the pink is perfect! It gives definition to the edges of the quilt.
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheQuiltedPig

  18. #18
    Senior Member paulettepoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Cedar City Utah
    Posts
    815
    green...........
    Some people visit paradise, I live there.

  19. #19
    Junior Member Karenowc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Posts
    293
    If you are talking about the binding, I love the pink. Had a hard time seeing the green.

    Forgot to add - LOVE The quilt!
    Karen in CA
    Babylock Ellisimo, Babylock Enlighten Serger, Janome 6600, Janome 760 for travel

  20. #20
    Power Poster joyce888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    10,612
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like the green since its a cooler color it won't be as overpowering as the pink
    Joyce

    Four things you can't recover: The stone.....after the throw. The word......after its said. The occasion.....after its missed. The time......after its gone

  21. #21
    Senior Member stitchinbee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    691
    I love the green color, however the pink gives it more definition. Btw, I sew love that quilt, the colors, the design, it's just very very pretty!
    - Be yourself, everyone else is already taken.
    - I've lost my mind somewhere in the heap of quilting scraps and motherboards.

  22. #22
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    3,775
    Blog Entries
    2
    I chose green because it is lighter and not noticeable.

  23. #23
    Super Member twixbar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    In Hiding.
    Posts
    2,245
    Ilike the green, lovely quilt.

  24. #24
    Super Member GrannieAnnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    S. W. Indiana
    Posts
    7,524
    Quote Originally Posted by omaluvs2quilt View Post
    My daughter is more drawn to cool colors, but loves the bright pink too, just not too much of it. Not finished yet, so top/bottom borders going on today.

    Name:  IMG_0822_copy.jpg
Views: 3062
Size:  210.7 KB

    LOL, the green matches the blue so closely I had to LOOK for it.

    I'd do pink--------as a repeat of the inner pink border.
    Bad Spellers of the World
    U N T I E

  25. #25
    Senior Member Scraps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    892
    Pretty quilt! I like the green!

Page 1 of 7 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.