Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 108

Thread: Opinions on border....

  1. #1
    Senior Member QuiltingTurtle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    695
    Ok I just finished the center of a baby quilt, using the easy Carpenter's wheel pattern. I originally wanted to use the squiggly top and bottom border (see photo). But now I like just framing it with the aqua color.

    I worked up what both would look like on EQ6. I would like to know which ones some of you prefer. I am posting the center so far and the two work ups. Sorry the color is bad, it was taken on cell phone.
    Attached Images Attached Images



  2. #2
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,846
    Blog Entries
    45
    i like the first one better, but i'd like to see it with the border going all they way around.

  3. #3
    Super Member Glassquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Northeast IL
    Posts
    2,064
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like the simple straight line - it frames the star nicely.

  4. #4
    Super Member Buckeye Rose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Monroe, IN
    Posts
    2,285
    Quote Originally Posted by QuiltnNan
    i like the first one better, but i'd like to see it with the border going all they way around.



    Ditto....it has more "personality"
    :thumbup:

  5. #5
    Senior Member Mickey1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    594
    i like the second one.

  6. #6
    Super Member mommamac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Coast of Maine
    Posts
    3,142
    choice #2

  7. #7
    Junior Member Daisygirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    271
    I like the second one as well.

  8. #8
    Senior Member MawMaw B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Smithville, Texas
    Posts
    691
    Second

  9. #9
    Power Poster erstan947's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,168
    Blog Entries
    47
    I like both:)

  10. #10
    Super Member Vivian Ketron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mo
    Posts
    2,998
    I like the 1st one but if you wanted it framed the 2nd would be the way to go.

  11. #11
    Super Member mom-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,487
    So are you framing a single block or several together in a quilt? For the single block I prefer the narrow straight border. If it is several blocks together I think I might prefer the zigzag, but would have to see the whole thing to be sure.
    Love your colors!

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    168
    I like the second one.

  13. #13
    Super Member leatheflea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    martinsville Indiana
    Posts
    4,454
    1

  14. #14
    Super Member Phannie1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Just move back to Chattanooga, TN.
    Posts
    2,027
    I like the clean straight line border. It does not take away from the star.

  15. #15
    Senior Member QuiltingTurtle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    695
    Thanks everyone, for your opinions. I am pretty sure I am going to use the 2nd one.

    mom-6 its one square 40"

    I will post pics when I finish the quilt. Hopefully with better lighting.

  16. #16
    Super Member Jan in VA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Piedmont Virginia in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.
    Posts
    8,212
    The center is fairly straight forward piecing, even with the diagonals and diamond shapes, so having even more piecing in the border gives the whole top more interest.

    With this pieced border on the first design, the points on the first center "float," and for that reason I prefer it over the second design.

    Jan in VA

  17. #17
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,958
    I love the second one. It frames it perfectly.

  18. #18
    Super Member rusty quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Ft. Gratiot, MI
    Posts
    1,960
    Blog Entries
    1
    First one gives it more dimension.

  19. #19
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    19,686
    second one - it it's just on the top and bottom

  20. #20
    Super Member janRN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    western Pa
    Posts
    4,601
    I'd do both. I'd frame it with the narrow straight border then use the pieced border for the outside then bind it in black. Just a very humble opinion.

  21. #21
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lake Elsinore, CA
    Posts
    12,426
    Quote Originally Posted by QuiltingTurtle
    Thanks everyone, for your opinions. I am pretty sure I am going to use the 2nd one.

    mom-6 its one square 40"

    I will post pics when I finish the quilt. Hopefully with better lighting.
    Darn, I like the first one better.

  22. #22
    Power Poster blueangel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    20,480
    I like No1.

  23. #23
    Super Member sahm4605's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Blue Springs, MO
    Posts
    2,240
    I think that you should do a double blue boarder before the black. it will look more finished, at least to me. the zig zag one looks nice but not like it is going to finish the quilt.

  24. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Eastern Indiana
    Posts
    245
    #2

  25. #25
    Power Poster alikat110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Waco, Texas
    Posts
    15,217
    Blog Entries
    9
    Either one is good.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.