Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Opinions on the Juki TL98E mid arm

  1. #1
    Member Debbie Ness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    76

    Opinions on the Juki TL98E mid arm

    I would like to get your opinions of the Juki TL98E. Did you ever have one, do you have it now. Likes and dislikes? I've come across a Juki TL98E and Gracie frame for sale. The Juki skips stitches while on the frame, but not off the frame. She doesn't know if it just needs a tune up or repair. If it's a good machine, I may be willing to put in the money for tune up or repair.
    Thanks in advance.
    Deb
    Debbie

  2. #2
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,953
    Blog Entries
    1
    Hi believe there are some posts about this machine on the board. Try doing a search here (upper right hand side of page). Also I think there are some reviews on Amazon.

    edit: i may be confusing the Juki machines. Is this the one that has a 9” harp? If so, it would be technically a short arm. Mid arms run 13” to 17” or so for the harp. 9” harps are very limiting on a frame. Juki does make a longarm, a newer machine, and that was the one I was thinking about.
    Last edited by Prism99; 06-01-2018 at 07:33 PM.

  3. #3
    Super Member Snooze2978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Carroll, Iowa
    Posts
    2,332
    I had the Juki 98Q on a Grace Pro frame once upon a time. Loved it. At one time, though I have a feeling he's no longer doing this, there was a man down in OK. that stretched the Juki machine to 18 inches. This is what I did and I never had a lick of trouble with it. Sold it when I went to the Innova.

    For the Grace frame if you get it, you might want to beef up the poles as they tend to bow. I slipped galvanized poles right over the original poles and then screwed them into the poles. I also replaced the rails with a metal type found at most any home tool store like Home Depot, Menards, etc.
    Suz in Iowa
    Designer EPIC, Brother XR3140
    Babylock Evolve, Innova 26" LS, MQR
    ProQ Designer, EQ7, Embird

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Mc Cune, KS
    Posts
    171
    I would check out Bailey sewing center in NY. I have a 13 Bailey, made in USA by Chuck Bailey. Great support, great machines. He makes a 17 machine also.

  5. #5
    Junior Member marshaKay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Port St Lucie Fl
    Posts
    274
    Blog Entries
    1
    Like Snooze2978, had one too. Absolutely loved it. No problems with it at all. Sold both the frame and machine, cried just a bit, but upgraded to a 12’ frame with an 18” JUKI QVP. Love this one even more!!!!! Sometimes change is good.

  6. #6
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    34,272
    I have a Juki TL98 QE (Means it doesn't have an extension). The throat is 7", I quilt with it and love it.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  7. #7
    Super Member quiltedsunshine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,271
    If it's skipping while on the frame, it could just mean the fabric is pulled too tight on the frame. It's a great machine.
    Annette in Utah

  8. #8
    Super Member soccertxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,669
    be sure the needle is seated properly. Sounds like the thread is not being picked up by the hook.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Greenville, Alabama
    Posts
    618
    I have this machine and a Grace SR2 and it is a great machine. It will sew anything you care to sew. Metal machine . My only complaint is that I wish it was a wider harp or throat area. You realize right away with this set up that your width of quilting on a pantograph for instance is limited by that width... and with your quilt rolled up on the rod next to the back of the machine. But the next machine in harp space is much, much more expensive. Another thing about the 98 is that there is no speed control and the control that Grace sent me 3 of doesn't work very well. Juki does make a high quality machine though.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Greenville, Alabama
    Posts
    618
    Jingle, do you have your Juki on a frame? If so, how do you regulate the speed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.