Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 38

Thread: Opinions on newer fabric designs

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sturbridge, Ma
    Posts
    4,014

    Opinions on newer fabric designs

    What do you think of the new fabric designs. One series from one designer is all directional stripes. How are yu using the larger prints. Many don't appear to be coordinated designs (large medium, small, backgrounds) that we are accustomed to using.

  2. #2
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    44,564
    Blog Entries
    45
    i tend not to buy coordinated fabrics... i just pick and choose what is pleasing to me. this is one reason that i don't buy bundled fabric.
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  3. #3
    Super Member nhweaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Delmarva Peninsula
    Posts
    1,167
    Blog Entries
    1
    I am having a hard time with the new fabrics, the colors don't seem "true", but that will help keep me on the fabric moratorium.
    If life gives you lemons, make a margarita.

  4. #4
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    31,010
    I think the new fabric lines are designed to make you buy the whole collection because that don't go with anything ELSE. That is just my opinion of course. Do I like them? I do like some of them but to buy a whole collection of enough fabric to make a quilt is beyond what I am comfortable spending on a quilt top.

  5. #5
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    29,900
    I only buy what I like and I have lots of that. I have no need to buy any more fabrics for quiet a while. If people don't like and don't buy it, it will go away.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  6. #6
    Super Member Rose Marie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Clay Springs AZ
    Posts
    3,228
    What I dont like is how they make quilts that are so busy that you cant see the design. No background fabric just prints and they all blend in togather. Ive seen this in several quilt mags.
    I like small prints and dislike orange fabric. Dont care much for very bright prints except for childrens quilts.
    Fall colors are my favorites.

  7. #7
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    9,385
    I am not a fan of the newer collections you speak of.. I typically like to work with smaller pieces for my quilts. It seems they are designing for large blocks for quickly done quilts, so you will finish and be back buying more fabric sooner.

  8. #8
    Super Member DebbE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,615
    The larger designs have their uses, I suppose, for stack and whack type quilts, fussy cutting, etc. But there aren't a lot of fabrics out there that grab me anymore, either.....

  9. #9
    Super Member crafty pat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Live Oak, Texas
    Posts
    5,781
    I don't like most of the collections, I like to find a fabric I like then find the matching fabrics I choose to go with it. I have not found to many new fabrics I like for quilts lately but some will make some cute bags.

  10. #10
    Senior Member texpat45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    N Texas
    Posts
    533
    I agree with Rose Marie about the bright busy prints all in one quilt. Gives me a headache to look at those. But I do love the modern quilt movement and have embraced the new collections wholeheartedly. Even those bright busy prints can look fabulous with judicious use and plenty of solids!
    Pat from Texas

    "Learn from the mistakes of others. You can't live long enough to make them all yourself."

  11. #11
    Super Member Jan in VA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Piedmont Virginia in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.
    Posts
    8,284
    Let's face it, Quilters. We who have been quilting for years are familiar and comfortable with "our" fabrics. At our “age” we generally aren't as easily attracted to "new stuff".

    Neither were the quilters of the sixties, seventies, and very early eighties when the "new prints" that weren't calicoes began to come into the market place. But those designs prevailed, and great, interesting, award winning patterns and quilts began to draw in more and more quilters (probably many of you who are reading this post.)

    Now we are going through yet another "resurgence" in the industry....and I'd venture that, after nearly 30 years it's about time. Especially if it draws in a whole new generation of quilters. We were the ones who carried it forward beyond our mothers/grandmothers; now the new ones will do that for us.

    Just like long skirts, or platform heels, or short jackets instead of blazers, or SUVs over station wagons, we eventually adapt and accept, and our "eye" gets used to seeing the "new stuff". Choosing to jump in and use it alot may come hard when we are "used to" making certain kinds of quilts, agreed. I haven't done it yet. I know many of you haven't either. But like the old expression, "I'm married, I ain't blind!" for men, I'm a senior but I ain't "OLD"!

    I want to try new things, new technology, new experiences, even new fabric designs. And maybe it’s time to learn FROM the “youngers” rather than just teaching them. I think some of this “new stuff” looks neat, clean, fresh……even if it is easier, quicker to sew. The young ones of today need that ease in their lives. Adapting to life as it evolves is what has made quilters the unique, stalwart individuals they are.

    Jan in VA
    Jan in VA
    Living in the foothills
    peacefully colors my world.
    http://www.quiltingboard.com/members...bums19552.html

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Keene, New Hampshire
    Posts
    4,270
    I rarely buy collections and seldom worry about what goes with what.
    I put together fabrics that appeal to me whether they "go together" or not.
    Large prints are perfect for quilts like "I Just Can't Cut It."
    Stripes cut on the bias are perfect for bindings.

  13. #13
    Super Member jcrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Small town in Northeast Oregon close to Washington and Idaho
    Posts
    2,734
    Blog Entries
    5
    Jan in VA said it best! I agree that we can adapt and need to learn and try new things. I like some of the fabric that is new. I don't like the fabric that looks like it would go on a bedspread in a motel. Kaffee Fassett (sp) is one designer that I would never buy a piece of his fabric. Way too busy and IMO looks lousy. A few more designers are following his pursuit and I won't be buying from them. But other than that, I have embraced the new fabric and I like it. I just ordered a fat quarter bundle and can't wait! And I'm taking classes and have book on "Modern Quilting". I like the empty spaces on a quilt. I should say I love the empty spaces left on a Modern Quilt. Hope it's okay I said the designer's name. It's just my own opinion and I've been wrong many times in my life.
    "Be yourself...everyone else is taken."
    Strong people don't put others down...they build them up."
    "Remember that your instincts are more important than rules"

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    951
    I like some of the new fabric and I'm really drawn to the so called modern look quilts using more solid space and less printed fabric.There's one hanging in my LQS now that I find stunning. What concerns me is so much solid space in one color to FMQ. But soon I'm going to try it.
    margaret

  15. #15
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    1,814
    Blog Entries
    14
    It's about 50/50 for me. I've seen some of the new and really like it, and some I wouldn't (excuse the expression, "take to a rat fight")

  16. #16
    Senior Member stillclock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    766
    i wanted to read this because i bought some really beautiful william morris fabrics from rose and hubble about 12 years ago. i've always had them in mind, but have done a number of projects in between. those fabrics are very beautiful, and now i have completed a sufficient number of quilts that i feel i could do something really special with those ones.

    so i've been looking for morris prints, and i am so disappointed by what i see. not only are the british studios non-existent or well (WELL) beyond a reasonable price range for me right now, the moda/ barabara brackman designs maintain the design aesthetic but are printed with fewer colours. her newest morris apprentice line is practically monochromatic.

    as for all the modern fabrics...well. i don't buy precuts and i don't buy whole lines (ever). i think there's a lot of "cute" going on, but i am not at all convinced that the colour stories are going to age well at all. that teal and red/pink combo is lovely...for now.

    i remember avocado appliances. and i know how i feel when i see burnt umber wallpaper. i feel like a lot of the hot colour stories right now are going to age just like that.

    i am working with older ssi fabrics right now, and i still really adore the colours. but then...they are rich primaries for the most part. hard to think they'll ever really be dated, though i know they will. ah time...



    aileen
    Last edited by stillclock; 11-28-2012 at 12:11 PM.

  17. #17
    Super Member Weezy Rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,148
    I don't mind learning about new technology, I resent the fact that you can't find the colors you want since they aren't in "fashion." I'm addicted to Southwestern colors - remind me of sitting in Arches NP under a clear blue sky with Entrada Sandstone adding the red coloring. Makes me feel good. Whatever someone else wants to do is fine with me. I can't and won't argue with personal taste.

    I also don't care for all those little "fashion" type necessities like table runners. I don't have a table so what would I do with one? A lot of the classes are just that - stuff I would never use and don't want. Mug rugs? Piece of lucite I can toss in the dishwasher. A lot of magazines are full of "fluff"

    No one in town has offered any classes on a tablet carrier. Or phone holder. I've found the patterns online and worked them out myself. I made a set for my daughter. I Nook cover, a bag for her Acer tablet, and a cell phone carrier that had a zippered compartment to hold some change. All matching.


    This forum is very useful to find esoteric information. I like QAYG. I see more are getting into it. So hints, tips and techniques are fabulous.

    I learned to sew just to avoid fashionistas.

    Someone mentioned a spring needle. I used to use one to do cutwork before embroidery machines.

  18. #18
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    9,857
    Blog Entries
    31
    Buy what you like. Not every fabric line in LQS are large and bold. My style is to use what I like and I can't afford to buy a complete line of any fabric but I can choose one fabric in a line that I love and build a quilt around that fabric.


    I feel sad for those of us who have a hard time choosing fabric. Some of the fun is deminished when fear overrides our instinct of what we like.

    Hope everyone finds what they like, eventually!
    peace
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

  19. #19
    Super Member sewingsuz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    6,074
    I don't care for the newer fabric either. I have a lot and I like it all so I make from what I have.
    Suzanne
    Asking a seamstress to mend is like asking Picasso to paint your garage.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    746
    I've read through this thread with a lot of interest. I am a new quilter at the age of 59 - was never interested before because I do not have a traditional aesthetic. Stumbling over the modern quilts has opened a whole new interest for me. I think some of the new collections are beautiful, but it goes against my nature to do anything that way - as putting together my own colors and patterns is a big part of the fun for me. I still see lots and lots of traditional fabrics, at least in my neck of the woods - St. Louis, that I pass right over unless there is something about a specific color that might attract me. I love orange, always the first color my eye goes to. Deep pastels, brights - all speak to me, as do neutrals. To add to another point regarding classes and magazines having nothing interesting - that happens with anything. As a new knitter I could not get enough of all that stuff. Now, I never buy a magazine - rarely want to go to a class. At some point, there is no more new, just a fresh take, or rehash, on stuff that has been around. I still have a strong interest in knitting, just don't need to spend money on books and mags anymore

  21. #21
    Senior Member liont's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    475
    I think I am the opposite. I started with Kaffe Fasset's fabrics. My first quilt book is his Glorious Patchwork, followed by Passionate Patchwork. I am intrigued and drawn in by his style of putting together seemingly clashing colors and making them dance.

    I started to quilt.
    Now 10 odd years later, I am still quilting. I've explored "retrospectively" and enjoy the beauty of vintage designs. I am still working on and off on my GFG.

    I buy whatever catches my eyes and (important!) whatever fits my budget.

    I guess doing things in reverse does have its advantage - I am less conventional and more willing to give things my own twist.

  22. #22
    Power Poster joyce888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    10,792
    Blog Entries
    1
    I've seen a lot of lines that I know I will never buy and are in no way my style or color. But that being said that's what I expect. I have been surprised that I'm now interested in some designers that I have not cared for in the past.
    Joyce

    Four things you can't recover: The stone.....after the throw. The word......after its said. The occasion.....after its missed. The time......after its gone

  23. #23
    Super Member fayzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Destin, Fl
    Posts
    1,881
    Blog Entries
    1
    Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Thankfully there are a multitude of online stores that sell everything from Civil
    War prints to the newer modern prints. I am loving the newer modern prints and patterns and then again I love other prints as well. I buy what I love and love what I buy. BTW, I will be 70 in January. Guess I'm a modern chick after all. LOL

  24. #24
    Super Member Teacup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    2,330
    I appreciate everyone's respectful replies, allowing room for lots of opinions.

    I agree that some color combintations that are trendy probably won't age well, and soon the quilt will jump out as being of a very particular time period (like those avocado appliances!). But I do like some of the modern quilt movement and aesthetic...it has grown on me. And I love that it is drawing in more people to quiltling who previously would not have been interested in working with the very traditional patterns/prints. I still love traditional quilts best, but am learning to appreciate the others. I find it funny to see some designs that to me look like the crazy prints from my childhood and high school years in the 60s and 70s being reinterpreted today. Even though some things aren't for me (give me burgundy and green over turquoise/lime/orange Christmas fabrics), I can smile and enjoy what people create with them. I especially like seeing what a traditional pattern looks like when done in totally different fabrics. I may not want to make it, may not want to put it in my home, but it's interesting to see what others do to give things a different spin. I'm glad there's room for all of us.

  25. #25
    Super Member Dodie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    1,427
    Blog Entries
    1
    I am just thankful that I have a large stash so if I don't like it I don't have to buy it I am turning more to the reproductions and some of the old patterns more fun that way I like to take my time

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.