Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 26 to 38 of 38

Thread: Opinions on newer fabric designs

  1. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Normal, IL
    Posts
    561
    I am on the Quilt 2014 committee in my guild. We do a quilt every year and raffle it off. We chose almost modern fabric (lots of different lines) but instead of pairing it with white we chose a beige. I am making a tool carrier for the Dec. meeting for a drawing. The shop where we got the fabric didn't have any of the line I am using so I I picked out some more modern fabric that goes with it pretty well. I'll be anxious to see it when it is finished. Please don't ask for a picture because I have no idea how to get one on. My card(?) doesn't fit into my computer.

  2. #27
    Super Member cherrio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ohio, the land of 4 seasons. sometimes all in the same week!
    Posts
    2,495
    I agree with you as well as with Jan. well said ladies

    Quote Originally Posted by margee View Post
    I like some of the new fabric and I'm really drawn to the so called modern look quilts using more solid space and less printed fabric.There's one hanging in my LQS now that I find stunning. What concerns me is so much solid space in one color to FMQ. But soon I'm going to try it.
    margaret
    You never stand taller than when you stoop to help a child.

  3. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    108
    DD & I were discussing this just this morning. We decided that we are just more traditional in our approach to quilting. We don't make the smaller wall hangings, table runners, etc - only full size quilts meant to be used (& sometimes abused). My main objection is that some of the colors are not ever found in nature - lol. I think a lot of these newer collections would be great in msaller items - something that you will quit using when you grow tired of it. I don't think they will have the "staying power" that some of the older fabrics have. I consider them more of a fad than a trend - just my opinion - but for those who love them "more power to you" - in quilting there truly is something for everyone.

    hugs
    Shirley in Indiana

  4. #29
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sweet Home Alabama
    Posts
    3,226
    I buy what I like and enjoy. A lot of the new fabrics don't appeal to me so I don't have to spend money on them. As much fabric as I have, I really don't need to be buying much anyway. I usually head for the sale tables first and I'm more likely to find what I like/need there.

  5. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Normal, IL
    Posts
    561
    We have a small quilt shop in town that is real close to me but I rarely go there because all they carry are the modern fabrics. I'm more a repro, Kansas Troubles, batik sort of person.

  6. #31
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    sonoma county CA
    Posts
    132
    I do like the modern quilt style. Hey it's less intricate - goes faster. But whoever decided that lime green, aqua and coral were Christmas colors? On the other hand, years ago I made Bob Coons Poinsetia Basket quilt, only I used shades of pink for the flowers. Spent two years looking for a pink poinsetia fabric to use for a border and ended up settling for a solid. Walked into JoAnn's a couple of days ago and there was the perfect fabric. What goes around comes around - except for maybe those avocado appliances - they can stay gone a lot longer.

  7. #32
    Super Member Dodie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    1,422
    Blog Entries
    1
    I to like Kansas Troubles just can't get into these large prints they are not made for cutting small

  8. #33
    Power Poster Mariposa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Eastern Washington
    Posts
    27,174
    JMHO here- I also find the newer fabrics not to my liking. Mostly because of the "off" colors. The big prints, stripes, etc. have their places, but some prints are well...... I tend not to be a minimalist, and am working on the idea of the plain modern designs. They can be fun to do, as they are perhaps simpler, but I'd use other fabrics than a bunch of solids.
    And here again, we all have different likes and tastes, and here on the board I am able to see others' creations and choices, and expand my horizons.
    Thanks for sharing, everyone!
    Be a blessing to others, as you may entertain angels unaware!

  9. #34
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Sonoma County, California
    Posts
    131
    I love all the new fabrics. I've sewn for almost 45 years but avoided quilting because I didn't like the tarditional fabrics and nature of teh patterns. I'm 53 and just started quilting in April. I have made 15 quilts since then and will be teaching at my LQS - the one that sells the new designer type fabrics - in the new year. I know I wouldn't be a quilter if the new fabrics hadn't come out.

  10. #35
    Senior Member maxnme01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Victorville, Ca.
    Posts
    631
    I find the newer designs in fabric reminds me too much of the 70's and I've done that, been there. I agree that an entire quilt made with these "busy" prints is overwhelming. I steer clear of them as they are way to busy and odd color combinations for me. I really dislike Kaffe Fassett. Just my humble opinion. Guess I'm too much of a traditionalist.
    Keep smiling, it makes others wonder what you're up to!

  11. #36
    Power Poster earthwalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    10,327
    Well said Jan. I have really eclectic taste...I will buy anything from vintage right through to the latest designs..anything really....calico's, tribal, William Morris and the incredible Kaffe Fassett and the new designers too. Sometimes I even mix 'em. When I create quilts or sewn items for family and friends, I try my best to use fabrics and materials that suit their particular lifestyle/taste....Variety is the spice of life and it pushes me to try new techniques and think creatively...which has to be a good thing.

  12. #37
    Super Member AZ Jane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,674
    Ok, I had to jump in here!! I do tend to make more traditional quilts with more traditional colors than not. My SIL is visiting and brought 3 quilts to work on while she is here. Turned my whole living/dining room into a quilt sweatshop, LOL. I was just teasing her yesterday of 3 quilts, all 3 have lime green, regardless if it goes with the quilt or not. Of course, that is my opinion but she truly loves all 3!!
    Better to do something imperfectly, than nothing perfectly.
    Done is better than perfect.

  13. #38
    Senior Member Nonna Judi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    740
    Blog Entries
    2
    I am tending to stay away from many of the newer, more modern fabrics. Many are soooo busy and don't really blend well with other fabrics or sometimes they don't even blend well with other fabrics of the same line, as they are all so busy. I tend to lean to the more traditional look in fabrics as well as in the quilt blocks I like to use. I guess I am just an old fashioned girl. I seek balance not "busy" in my quilts. Thats my story and I'm sticking to it! Good thread!
    Judi from Denver, aka Nonna Judi

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.