Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Opinions on pieced backings >

Opinions on pieced backings

Opinions on pieced backings

Old 03-11-2010, 05:43 PM

As much as I'd like to buy fabric that's extra wide...it's not going to happen anytime soon; so this is a more what's your opinion thread than anything else. I have no interest in making two tops so it's reversible.

I have very little experience in making backings for bed size quilts. I've done 3 twins and none of them came out like I wanted them to. My big project this year is going to be queen size and I don't want to stress how to make the back.

Here is what I know IS going to happen.

I'm probably going to have to buy between 8 and 9 yards for the backing. It's all going to be the same fabric. I'm going to have to piece it.

My question is this: is it easier to make a backing for a queen size quilt with seams running vertical on the bed or horizontal?

Either way, the most width I'm going to get by sewing two sections together is 88 inches. Is it possible to make a backing where the length of the fabric purchase is the same as the width of the quilt? Then multiply the length by how many of these width strips it will take to make the whole backing?

Did I just make this completely complicated? I'm going to need to know how to make bed size backings....so I might as well get everyone's opinions now.

What do you think?
Old 03-11-2010, 05:53 PM

If you piece the backing try to make sure the seam goes horizontally, less stress on the seam when pulling the quilt up. Also you could use three pieces of fabric sewing them horizontally and it will be wider than 88 inches. Large piece in the middle and cut off excess on each side. I hope this helps. I think there was an earlier post about pieced backings a few days ago. Go up to SEARCH and put in pieced backings.
Old 03-11-2010, 06:14 PM

refresh my memory, please:
What are the measurements of the quilts you are working with?