Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Opinions requested on VBS Quilt

  1. #1
    Super Member Raggiemom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    3,604
    I'm making a small quilt for our church's Vacation Bible School. The theme this summer is Son Surf Beach. This is what I've laid out so far below. The blue material has beachy stuff all over it and there's supposed to be a cross visible. Any suggestions or is it okay?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Power Poster erstan947's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,173
    Blog Entries
    47
    Looks good to me. The cross shows good and the colors are very surfy. :thumbup:

  3. #3
    Super Member LoriEl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Monroe, NJ
    Posts
    2,710
    Blog Entries
    10
    Are you leaving the blocks plain? If you are, maybe the kids could sign them with a pigma pen, or draw something like what represents Jesus to them or something like that.
    You could even find a "religious" fabric and have them help make the quilt by cutting out the images and applique them to blocks. I think that would work even if the quilt was "finished" already.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    767
    It's only my opinion, but I think I would shorten the crossarms of the cross by one block on each side. (Replace them with orange blocks.) What do you think?

  5. #5
    MTS
    MTS is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4,301
    Quote Originally Posted by Carol's Quilts
    It's only my opinion, but I think I would shorten the crossarms of the cross by one block on each side. What do you think?
    Ah, so the cross floats?

    Or, make the corners orange (instead of blue) so it doesn't take away from the cross shape.

    And then you can border it anyway you want.

    But I think we're both seeing the same thing.

  6. #6
    Super Member Raggiemom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    3,604
    I didn't have enough orange blocks to put in the corner. I could put yellow blocks there and then shorten the arms. I'm planning to use a tan backing (represent sand) and white binding.

    Here is what that would look like. I will probably SITD down the rows and columns. I don't do FMQ yet.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sturbridge, Ma
    Posts
    4,014
    how do you plan to quilt it

  8. #8
    MTS
    MTS is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4,301
    The cross is totally the focus now!

  9. #9
    Power Poster CarrieAnne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Whitewater, WI
    Posts
    26,044
    pretty!

  10. #10
    MTS
    MTS is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4,301
    Quote Originally Posted by Raggiemom
    . I will probably SITD down the rows and columns. I don't do FMQ yet.
    I wouldn't SITD in the cross, but around it.

    And then I would echo that shape every inch or two, until it's all done.

    You could echo the cross inside on the blue if you want.

    But if you just do the grid of blocks, it kinda negates everything you did to get that pattern, and it's back to...well, a bunch of squares.

    You could do it with a straight stitch, or a wavy stitch - (on a Bernina it's stitch #4). It's just as easy to use as a straight stitch, but it give a lot of texture to all that flat space.
    See the picture below.

    I use it all the time (as I, too, have no FMQ skills). ;-)

    Find a great variegated thread with oranges/blues, and I think it would be FABULOUS!
    Take a look at M36 (click on it and it enlarges to the right).
    http://www.valdani.com/product_details/2

    And not that you have to buy new thread, but you can see how much more interesting it could make the quilt.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #11
    Senior Member CompulsiveQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    745
    If you can't shorten the arms, lengthen the cross with another row.

  12. #12
    Super Member quilting cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Lake Stevens, WA
    Posts
    1,896
    I'm familiar with "cross" quilts, but the bright orang draws the eye away from the blue, and I wouldn't have noticed the cross if you hadn't mentioned it. :cry:
    Would your number of squares allow an orange cross, glowing with yellow around it, then blue "background? Or put the blue around a yellow or orange cross?

  13. #13
    MTS
    MTS is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4,301
    Did you see her second picture?

  14. #14
    Super Member Quiltforme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Beautiful Washington state!
    Posts
    3,341
    Love it very much!!! The cross popped right out I knew just what it was!!!

  15. #15
    Super Member justflyingin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jozefow, Poland
    Posts
    4,501
    I like the way you ended up laying them out in the second picture!! Very nice.

    Good advice everyone!

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    161
    The second layout looks really nice

  17. #17
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,088
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Carol's Quilts
    It's only my opinion, but I think I would shorten the crossarms of the cross by one block on each side. (Replace them with orange blocks.) What do you think?
    I like this idea too, it will make the cross stand out more. Maybe darker blue blocks in the corners? and then bind it in the same?
    What a beautiful pattern and fabrics :D:D:D

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    767
    Just love your second picture - it looks all in proportion now. They are going to love it!

  19. #19
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3,821
    Very nice design.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.