Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Opinions on the Singer Futura Quartet on Hsn TS?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    kannapolis, nc
    Posts
    391

    Opinions on the Singer Futura Quartet on Hsn TS?

    Does anyone have the Futura Quartet? It was last year's TS in Nov. this year's is a new model but it can't be that different. I am thinking about it but not sure, I know it is a good value for all you get, but would like opinions from people who have it.

  2. #2
    Super Member DonnaC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    1,515
    I know... it's so tempting, isn't it? I searched the board and found a couple of threads from back in 2010 when these Quartet machines were introduced... lots of different opinions, of course. Unfortunately HSN always removes the older machines and their associated reviews when they introduce a new one, so you can't even go back and look at the previous models' reviews. If you're a member of Pattern Review, there are four reviews over there for the earlier versions of these machines. I would love to buy it just for the bigger embroidery hoop!

    Here are the threads I found:

    http://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1...-a-t72124.html
    http://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1...al-t71428.html

  3. #3
    Super Member DonnaC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    1,515
    Just found some reviews of a similar machine on Amazon, too:

    http://www.amazon.com/SINGER-XL-400-...futura+quartet

  4. #4
    Super Member Nanamoms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    MS
    Posts
    3,173
    Blog Entries
    1
    Very tempting BUT one thing I would have thought it would have is the USB Thumb/Jump Drive capability so you wouldn't have to use the cable to attach computer to machine. The Accu-Punch software sounds very interesting.

    I do know that the Brother embroidery machine only with the larger hoop is about $1500 w/o any software.

  5. #5
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    I like to watch the sewing shows on HSN. It's a good way to keep up with the new things a sewing machine can do.
    Got fabric?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    kannapolis, nc
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by BellaBoo View Post
    I like to watch the sewing shows on HSN. It's a good way to keep up with the new things a sewing machine can do.
    Me too, and that is my downfall, I always want one. The Futura may be too advanced for me right now (computer skills) but it has great stitches. I may buy the Stylist ll because it is on a good sale but I really was looking at the Curvy but it isn't on sale. I can get the Stylist for $280 with a 15% off coupon and free shipping, then of course tax. I have been waiting for the Nov. Singer TS for awhile because I knew even if I didn't want the TS they would have other machines on sale.

  7. #7
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    28,333
    I stay away from any channel that sells anything. It would be too easy to do alot of buying.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  8. #8
    Junior Member coffeebreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    139
    I dont' know about that one...but last year I bought their new Quantum Stylist 9960. It's okay, but...it is a constant battle with threading. You have to completely unthread the whole machine and rethread differently just to wind a bobbin. My old SInger 2010 (now 28 years old!) all you did was open the bobbin cage, push the arm over, press the button and pedel to the medal. When it was done, ti stopped, you pushed the arm back over, closed the cage and put your fabric under and started sewing! but with this one...unless you want to constantly be rethreading...I have to thread several bobbins at once so I just drop one in. Not exactly a big deal, but it often leaves me with half filled bobbins. And another thing, the "press to cut" feature, where you press the button and it cuts the threads instead of you doing it...it only leavse about 1/2 inch of thread, so you have to have a "thread head" starter thing ...scrap fabric under pressure foot, and get the thread started in that and then your piece after it. If not, the thread will not catch and it will come unthreaded on the top and because it is totally enclosed, y ou have to literally take the spool of thread and pull the thread all the way out to get to the end and rethread it. In addition to time consuming and annoying, it just doesn't make sense that pulling the thread out backwards..it just sounds like it is messing something up in there and can't be good to pull it backwards...but they say that is fine.
    My point...check out the threading features of the machine before you buy.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Vancouver, Washingrton
    Posts
    430
    Blog Entries
    1
    I had a Singer Futura and will never buy another singer again. I have an old Singer 503 Rockeeter and it's still going. I don't trust the new Singers now.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    kannapolis, nc
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by coffeebreak View Post
    I dont' know about that one...but last year I bought their new Quantum Stylist 9960. It's okay, but...it is a constant battle with threading. You have to completely unthread the whole machine and rethread differently just to wind a bobbin. My old SInger 2010 (now 28 years old!) all you did was open the bobbin cage, push the arm over, press the button and pedel to the medal. When it was done, ti stopped, you pushed the arm back over, closed the cage and put your fabric under and started sewing! but with this one...unless you want to constantly be rethreading...I have to thread several bobbins at once so I just drop one in. Not exactly a big deal, but it often leaves me with half filled bobbins. And another thing, the "press to cut" feature, where you press the button and it cuts the threads instead of you doing it...it only leavse about 1/2 inch of thread, so you have to have a "thread head" starter thing ...scrap fabric under pressure foot, and get the thread started in that and then your piece after it. If not, the thread will not catch and it will come unthreaded on the top and because it is totally enclosed, y ou have to literally take the spool of thread and pull the thread all the way out to get to the end and rethread it. In addition to time consuming and annoying, it just doesn't make sense that pulling the thread out backwards..it just sounds like it is messing something up in there and can't be good to pull it backwards...but they say that is fine.
    My point...check out the threading features of the machine before you buy.
    Thank you, I will look at those features.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    kannapolis, nc
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by akisan View Post
    I had a Singer Futura and will never buy another singer again. I have an old Singer 503 Rockeeter and it's still going. I don't trust the new Singers now.
    How long ago did you have the Futura because they have used that name for several decades? Also, the Singer Co. was bought out in 2005 and now belongs to the same company that owns Pfaffs and Vikings. Thank you and I would LOVE to have another Rockeeter. I learned to sew on a 301 and traded it for a rockeeter and quit sewing for some years, so I sold it, DUMB!

  12. #12
    Super Member DonnaC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    1,515
    So, ragquilter, did you cave yet (LOL)?? I'm still thinking about it. I was hoping it would be sold out by the time I got home from work so I wouldn't have to make the decision!

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    kannapolis, nc
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by DonnaC View Post
    So, ragquilter, did you cave yet (LOL)?? I'm still thinking about it. I was hoping it would be sold out by the time I got home from work so I wouldn't have to make the decision!
    No, I'm watching it right now. I am not sure I need all the features but it is grand, isn't it. I am leaning toward getting the Stylist ll, it may do all I need right now. With my 15% off coupon I will pay $280 plus tax and free shipping. Not sure, I wanted to see the other machine that should be on this hour but it is $499 and I haven't figured in the 15% coupon. Let me know if you cave.

  14. #14
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,908
    I have the Singer Futura CE-200, and have had for a number of years. I use it in my business and it does very well. However, I HAVE heard others say that they really didn't like theirs...guess it boils down to "different strokes for different folks"....you could probably find some info on it if you Google "Singer Futura CE-200"...
    If you feel like you're special...it's 'cause you are!
    Momto5

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    kannapolis, nc
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by momto5 View Post
    I have the Singer Futura CE-200, and have had for a number of years. I use it in my business and it does very well. However, I HAVE heard others say that they really didn't like theirs...guess it boils down to "different strokes for different folks"....you could probably find some info on it if you Google "Singer Futura CE-200"...
    Thank you for your input. I think this is more machine right now than I need but I want something with more decorative stitches so I got the Stylist ll.

  16. #16
    Super Member DonnaC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    1,515
    Good for you! Hope you enjoy your new machine!

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    kannapolis, nc
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by DonnaC View Post
    Good for you! Hope you enjoy your new machine!
    At least I will have until the end of January to try it out. I really should not have but my enabler (DH) insisted that I needed a machine with fancy stitches. This is my 4th and last machine unless something blows up or my DD talks me out of one. But with my coupon and free shipping I didn't do bad. Did you cave yet?

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    203
    I need to change the channel - quick!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.