Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Patterns that use 1/4 yard cuts (not fat quarters)? >

Patterns that use 1/4 yard cuts (not fat quarters)?

Patterns that use 1/4 yard cuts (not fat quarters)?

Old 04-11-2014, 11:09 PM

Question Patterns that use 1/4 yard cuts (not fat quarters)?

I know I saw one of these not long ago on a blog, but I ignored it because I don't have any 1/4 yard cuts. Or so I thought. I do have a whole bunch that were left over after cutting pieces for a quilt. Any ideas?

Another idea is to piece them all together for the back of the quilt but I love this fabric so if I can make a second quilt with it I will be super happy.
Old 04-12-2014, 03:53 AM

I'm pretty sure i remember seeing a thread where someone else requested patterns for 1/4 yard strips but alas i cannot find it. I'm a silly newb lol

As soon as someone else comes along with it, I better bookmark it for myself. I have been picking up remnants here and there and a lot are 1/4 to 1/3 yard strips.
Old 04-12-2014, 04:00 AM
Power Poster

You can always cut them into jelly roll strips and there are lots of patterns for those.
Old 04-12-2014, 04:15 AM

here is one http://www.thequiltedcastle.com/item...achers-Pet.htm
Old 04-12-2014, 06:20 AM

You can use your standard 1/4 yd cuts in place of fat quarters in many patterns. You just need to think of it as 2 pieces that are each half of a fat quarter. I just finished cutting a Yellow Brick Road (fq pattern) from a combination of fat and standard quarter yard pieces. You can also use them as strips for Log Cabin, Rail Fence, or Hidden Wells quilts.
Old 04-12-2014, 06:28 AM
Power Poster

Originally Posted by ShirlinAZ View Post
You can use your standard 1/4 yd cuts in place of fat quarters in many patterns. You just need to think of it as 2 pieces that are each half of a fat quarter.
I have done this as well especially with the Yellow Brick Road pattern. Just try to redraw the cutting layout to fit your 1/4 yard cuts. Good Luck !!