Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Please help newbie salvage quilt top. Thanks!! >

Please help newbie salvage quilt top. Thanks!!

Please help newbie salvage quilt top. Thanks!!

Old 10-28-2014, 04:11 AM

Default Please help newbie salvage quilt top. Thanks!!

I'm a newbie, I've been quilting since May. I designed this quilt top but messed up on my cutting. All of the horizontal sashing pieces were supposed to be 2 1/2" high. After I assembled this I realized a few are bigger, looks like I cut them 3" high. Ack - where was my mind?

I don't have the heart to rip this apart and start over but I'm very disappointed in myself. Can I possibly cut it down into squares and reassemble it so my mistakes either don't show or aren't as obvious?

This one was supposed to be a Christmas gift but now I doubt that it will. I'll probably just give it as an everyday gift where the expectations are lower.

Any and all ideas will be appreciated. Really really disappointed today. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails 100_5487.jpg  
Old 10-28-2014, 04:56 AM

Well, you know what, I would just quilt it as it is. Call it a design element. I like it. There will, however, probably bee some better answers coming.

Dina
Old 10-28-2014, 05:00 AM

Ha!! That was my first thought too - say "I planned it that way!". Then I showed it to hubby and he said it just jumped out at him that something was wrong and he knows nothing about quilts. He said if he could notice it, other people would too.

PS. Should have mentioned before. This is a lap quilt. After I squared off this center part there was to be a solid dark blue border. I was going to FMQ it. The picture doesn't capture it but the rectangles graduate from beige with a little blue to white with a little blue. It was my "theme".

Last edited by KenmoreGal2; 10-28-2014 at 05:03 AM.
Old 10-28-2014, 05:02 AM
Power Poster

This looks as if it was designed to be staggered. Just go with it!
Old 10-28-2014, 05:02 AM