Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: please talk to me about thread

please talk to me about thread

Well after taking my new machine back to the shop i found out most of my trouble was the thread. They sold me metrosene thread. I need to find an online place for good thread. What is comparable to metrosene? Would i be able to use the Essentials thread from Connecting threads? Or is my store just trying to sell me thread? I am fairly new to this and advice is welcome. Thanks.
    Holly

Hi Holly
    I like to use Auriful thread (I order it online).It is an Egyptian long staple cotton and has very little lint. (Available at Red Rock Threads)
    Another if my favorites is Masterpiece by Superior Threads. There is a wonderful Superior threads website that has a ton of info on all types of the thread that they sell. Bob Purcell (Owner) does wonderful workshop lectures about thread at some of the larger quilt shows.You can also buy from them on their site. Shipping is very reasonable.
    After using these threads my stash of thread is becoming like my fabric stash - too large.
    Elizabeth

I never heard of metrosene thread. I use connecting threads thread and coats and clark most of the time. I found C&C quilting thread doesn't leave as much lint nor break as much as other kinds. I clean the bobbin area every time I out in a new bobbin. Don't use canned air, vacuum the area or use a brush.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

Superior Thread has a great site with all kinds of information about thread and needles.The only thread I have been told not to use is coats and clark and cheap wal-mart brands or other cheap brands.

Dix
    Blog Entries