Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Fat Quarters vs. Bolted Fabric (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/fat-quarters-vs-bolted-fabric-t43309.html)

heebz 04-20-2010 07:00 AM

Hi everyone. I'm new to all this so when I went into my local fabric shop and asked how much fabric I would need for a design I mocked up myself they suggested I do a test pattern with fat quarters.
Well, I've figured that part out and I now know how much I need in terms of fat quarters to get my work done. But how to fat quarters relate to fabric on the bolt when cutting? Because, presumably, a "fat quarter" is not an actual quarter. Any suggestions for figuring out this little math problem?

Melinda in Tulsa 04-20-2010 07:13 AM

Originally Posted by heebz
Hi everyone. I'm new to all this so when I went into my local fabric shop and asked how much fabric I would need for a design I mocked up myself they suggested I do a test pattern with fat quarters.
Well, I've figured that part out and I now know how much I need in terms of fat quarters to get my work done. But how to fat quarters relate to fabric on the bolt when cutting? Because, presumably, a "fat quarter" is not an actual quarter. Any suggestions for figuring out this little math problem?

4 fat quarters = 1 yard

seamstome 04-20-2010 07:14 AM

Real quarter is 9 by 44. Two real quarters laid top to bottom is a half yard. FQ is 18 by 22 so two FQ side by side is a regular half (18 by 44.

So in essense four FQ's equal a yard just like four real quarters do, it's just how you get there.

heebz 04-20-2010 07:18 AM

hahaha. Thanks a bunch! I guess I was just putting a little too much thought into it.

Kutnso 04-20-2010 07:23 AM

Hello everyone,