Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Fat Quarters vs. Bolted Fabric >

Fat Quarters vs. Bolted Fabric

Fat Quarters vs. Bolted Fabric

Old 04-20-2010, 07:00 AM

Hi everyone. I'm new to all this so when I went into my local fabric shop and asked how much fabric I would need for a design I mocked up myself they suggested I do a test pattern with fat quarters.
Well, I've figured that part out and I now know how much I need in terms of fat quarters to get my work done. But how to fat quarters relate to fabric on the bolt when cutting? Because, presumably, a "fat quarter" is not an actual quarter. Any suggestions for figuring out this little math problem?
Old 04-20-2010, 07:13 AM

Originally Posted by heebz
Hi everyone. I'm new to all this so when I went into my local fabric shop and asked how much fabric I would need for a design I mocked up myself they suggested I do a test pattern with fat quarters.
Well, I've figured that part out and I now know how much I need in terms of fat quarters to get my work done. But how to fat quarters relate to fabric on the bolt when cutting? Because, presumably, a "fat quarter" is not an actual quarter. Any suggestions for figuring out this little math problem?
4 fat quarters = 1 yard
Old 04-20-2010, 07:14 AM

Real quarter is 9 by 44. Two real quarters laid top to bottom is a half yard. FQ is 18 by 22 so two FQ side by side is a regular half (18 by 44.

So in essense four FQ's equal a yard just like four real quarters do, it's just how you get there.
Old 04-20-2010, 07:18 AM

hahaha. Thanks a bunch! I guess I was just putting a little too much thought into it.
Old 04-20-2010, 07:23 AM

Hello everyone,
I've purchased many fat quarters for my Charm quilt (999 different fabrics) in JoAnn's and I found that the quality is not the same as fabric on the bolts. Some of the designs are quite lovely but please be very careful if you plan to use these FQs in an actual project.
Good luck, kutnso
Old 04-20-2010, 12:09 PM
Power Poster