Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Newbie Question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/newbie-question-t12556.html)

Away2me 10-24-2008 02:56 PM

Okay I'm attempting my first quilt. Any tricks of the trade involved with cutting my fabric squares? I'm doing 4 1/4 " squares. I have a rotary cutter, a cutting board and a square ruler.

I mean it seems pretty simple, but I figured I might get some time saving tips or some reminders from all you pros.

pocoellie 10-24-2008 03:03 PM

Welcome from NE CA. To save time, I would buy a 5" or wider ruler, or a June Taylor square. I can't think of what the correct name for it is, but it makes a 12" square, has slots in it, 1/2" apart. I have 2 of them, love them, others don't like them, it's up to you.

Quilter101 10-24-2008 03:07 PM

Read some of Kaye Woods books, and the simplest solution, although I'm not good at it for some reason, is strips. Sew strips together and then cut them... :)

Jim's Gem 10-24-2008 03:26 PM

You probably know this, but cut your fabrics into 41/4 in strips then subcut into the 4 1/4 squares. You can cut several layers at a time, but I wouldn't until you were comfortable with using the rotary cutter. You don't want to accidentally cut a whole bunch of fabrics the wrong size!!
Are you using yardage or fat quarters?

Away2me 10-24-2008 03:35 PM

Originally Posted by Jim's Gem
You probably know this, but cut your fabrics into 41/4 in strips then subcut into the 4 1/4 squares. You can cut several layers at a time, but I wouldn't until you were comfortable with using the rotary cutter. You don't want to accidentally cut a whole bunch of fabrics the wrong size!!
Are you using yardage or fat quarters?

Actually, I miss typed, I'm doing 4 1/2" squares. And I have no idea what you mean by yardage or fat quarters. I'm so novice at this! :roll:

Chele 10-24-2008 03:38 PM