Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Question

Okay I'm attempting my first quilt. Any tricks of the trade involved with cutting my fabric squares? I'm doing 4 1/4 " squares. I have a rotary cutter, a cutting board and a square ruler.

I mean it seems pretty simple, but I figured I might get some time saving tips or some reminders from all you pros.

Welcome from NE CA. To save time, I would buy a 5" or wider ruler, or a June Taylor square. I can't think of what the correct name for it is, but it makes a 12" square, has slots in it, 1/2" apart. I have 2 of them, love them, others don't like them, it's up to you.

Banned
    Read some of Kaye Woods books, and the simplest solution, although I'm not good at it for some reason, is strips. Sew strips together and then cut them... :)

You probably know this, but cut your fabrics into 41/4 in strips then subcut into the 4 1/4 squares. You can cut several layers at a time, but I wouldn't until you were comfortable with using the rotary cutter. You don't want to accidentally cut a whole bunch of fabrics the wrong size!!
    Are you using yardage or fat quarters?

Quote Originally Posted by Jim's Gem
    You probably know this, but cut your fabrics into 41/4 in strips then subcut into the 4 1/4 squares. You can cut several layers at a time, but I wouldn't until you were comfortable with using the rotary cutter. You don't want to accidentally cut a whole bunch of fabrics the wrong size!!
    Are you using yardage or fat quarters?
    Actually, I miss typed, I'm doing 4 1/2" squares. And I have no idea what you mean by yardage or fat quarters. I'm so novice at this! :roll: