Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Number of Duplicates in Layer Cakes and Charm Packs (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/number-duplicates-layer-cakes-charm-packs-t214819.html)

cmw0829 02-25-2013 07:14 AM

Number of Duplicates in Layer Cakes and Charm Packs

Hi, I am taking a class that calls for a layer cake and two charm packs - which I have never used before. As I have a rather substantial stash, I'd prefer to cut from that. However, I'd like to mirror the number of duplicates that I would have if I were using the pre-cuts.

Could anybody tell me how many duplicates I would typically find in each of these packs?

Thanks in advance,
Cathy

Lee in Richmond 02-25-2013 07:17 AM

Originally Posted by cmw0829 (Post 5886909)
Hi, I am taking a class that calls for a layer cake and two charm packs - which I have never used before. As I have a rather substantial stash, I'd prefer to cut from that. However, I'd like to mirror the number of duplicates that I would have if I were using the pre-cuts.

Could anybody tell me how many duplicates I would typically find in each of these packs?

Thanks in advance,
Cathy

I think it varies by brand, but I have seen it stated in the description of some. Did they tell you to buy any particular fabric(s)?

irishrose 02-25-2013 07:36 AM

All my charm packs have had two of each fabric in the line for a total of 40 or 42. I haven't purchased a layer cake.

gramajo 02-25-2013 07:37 AM

Go to either manufacturer's site or online store. That should tell you the number of pieces in that collection.

cmw0829 02-25-2013 07:42 AM

Thanks for the comments.

I did take some looks around and saw that some had four or five of each of 10 fabrics in the layer cakes. I thought that was a little high so thought I'd ask what you've found in your packs. Thanks again.

auntpiggylpn 02-25-2013 11:25 AM