Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Number of Duplicates in Layer Cakes and Charm Packs

Number of Duplicates in Layer Cakes and Charm Packs

Hi, I am taking a class that calls for a layer cake and two charm packs - which I have never used before. As I have a rather substantial stash, I'd prefer to cut from that. However, I'd like to mirror the number of duplicates that I would have if I were using the pre-cuts.

Could anybody tell me how many duplicates I would typically find in each of these packs?

Thanks in advance,
    Cathy

Quote Originally Posted by cmw0829 View Post
    Hi, I am taking a class that calls for a layer cake and two charm packs - which I have never used before. As I have a rather substantial stash, I'd prefer to cut from that. However, I'd like to mirror the number of duplicates that I would have if I were using the pre-cuts.

Could anybody tell me how many duplicates I would typically find in each of these packs?

Thanks in advance,
    Cathy
    I think it varies by brand, but I have seen it stated in the description of some. Did they tell you to buy any particular fabric(s)?

Blog Entries
    All my charm packs have had two of each fabric in the line for a total of 40 or 42. I haven't purchased a layer cake.

Go to either manufacturer's site or online store. That should tell you the number of pieces in that collection.

Thanks for the comments.

I did take some looks around and saw that some had four or five of each of 10 fabrics in the layer cakes. I thought that was a little high so thought I'd ask what you've found in your packs. Thanks again.

Blog Entries